Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I installed the drivers and firmware for my Airlink AWLH5025 (Ralink RT61 chipset) PCI wireless card and NetworkManager sees the wireless networks but won't connect to them. I've tried tweaking ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! kahlil88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mendocino, CA
    Posts
    25

    Unhappy Can't connect to wireless network


    I installed the drivers and firmware for my Airlink AWLH5025 (Ralink RT61 chipset) PCI wireless card and NetworkManager sees the wireless networks but won't connect to them. I've tried tweaking my /etc/conf.d/net as instructed by the Gentoo Handbook (for both wpa_supplicant and wireless-tools), but no dice. I know my wireless works because I'm connected now in Windows 7 and have also tested it with Ubuntu.

  2. #2
    Linux User vickey_20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    493
    please post the o/p of
    ifconfig -a
    and are you able to ping the network??
    Only if I could understand the man pages
    Registered Linux user #492640
    OS: RHEL4,5 ,RH 9,Ubuntu

  3. #3
    Just Joined! kahlil88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mendocino, CA
    Posts
    25
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:75:c6:01
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:240 (240.0 B) TX bytes:240 (240.0 B)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:a5:33:9d:5a
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-14-A5-33-9D-5A-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP RUNNING MTU:0 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User vickey_20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by kahlil88 View Post

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:a5:33:9d:5a
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Your wireless card seems to be present but not assigned an ip address.
    Do you get any specific error when trying to connect to the network???
    and also can you ping your network???
    Only if I could understand the man pages
    Registered Linux user #492640
    OS: RHEL4,5 ,RH 9,Ubuntu

  6. #5
    Just Joined! kahlil88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mendocino, CA
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by vickey_20 View Post
    Your wireless card seems to be present but not assigned an ip address.
    Do you get any specific error when trying to connect to the network???
    and also can you ping your network???
    When I try to connect with NetworkManager, it animates for a few seconds then a message pops up that says "the network connection has been disconnected." What good is ping if I can't connect? I just get an "unknown host" error. I've also tried /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
    * Caching service dependencies... [ ok ]
    * Bringing down interface wlan0
    * Removing addresses
    * Stopping wpa_cli on wlan0... [ ok ]
    * Stopping wpa_supplicant on wlan0... [ ok ]
    * Bringing up interface wlan0
    * Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0... [ ok ]
    * Starting wpa_cli on wlan0... [ ok ]
    * Backgrounding ......
    * WARNING: net.wlan0 has started, but is inactive

  7. #6
    Linux User vickey_20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    493
    try this
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    if this doesn't work try giving it an ip
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.10
    ping the network to check whether it is reachable.
    Only if I could understand the man pages
    Registered Linux user #492640
    OS: RHEL4,5 ,RH 9,Ubuntu

  8. #7
    Just Joined! kahlil88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mendocino, CA
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by vickey_20 View Post
    try this
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    Tried that a bunch already
    Quote Originally Posted by vickey_20 View Post
    if this doesn't work try giving it an ip
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.10
    ping the network to check whether it is reachable.
    I know the network is reachable because I can connect to it with Windows 7 and pretty much any other computer available.

  9. #8
    Linux User vickey_20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    493
    network reachable with windows doesn't guarantee it will be reachable by other OS too. There may be some different problem here.
    Please the o/p of ping to the wireless ntw here
    Only if I could understand the man pages
    Registered Linux user #492640
    OS: RHEL4,5 ,RH 9,Ubuntu

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    There may be more to this than a simple failure to connect. I would first like to start with you providing all of the basic information needed to begin a diagnosis of the problem There is a stickied thread, that explains how to find the needed info. You can use the script in the second part to automatically get the info.

    Wireless Setup - Start Here

    In addition, you may want to give us the complete output of this command, as it may contain many error messages.
    Code:
    dmesg
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  11. #10
    Just Joined! kahlil88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Mendocino, CA
    Posts
    25
    Already had a look at that thread before I posted this one. The output of dmesg is quite long, but here's the wireless stuff that shows up:
    [ 49.233487] rt61pci 0000:05:01.0: firmware: requesting rt2661.bin
    [ 49.298511] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    [ 49.709704] Adding 4715036k swap on /dev/sda5. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4715036k
    [ 50.086028] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 50.087422] wlan0: authenticated
    [ 50.087424] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 50.090027] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=12 aid=0)
    [ 50.090030] wlan0: AP denied association (code=12)
    [ 50.287019] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 50.306182] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=12 aid=0)
    [ 50.306186] wlan0: AP denied association (code=12)
    [ 50.487017] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 50.488878] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=12 aid=0)
    [ 50.488882] wlan0: AP denied association (code=12)
    [ 50.687031] wlan0: association with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b timed out
    [ 1119.605029] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1119.608026] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1119.609605] wlan0: authenticated
    [ 1119.609607] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1119.615768] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=0 aid=1)
    [ 1119.615770] wlan0: associated
    [ 1119.616507] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
    [ 1119.616560] wlan0: disassociating by local choice (reason=3)
    [ 1129.930012] wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 1130.456029] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1130.457539] wlan0: authenticated
    [ 1130.457542] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1130.459780] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=0 aid=1)
    [ 1130.459782] wlan0: associated
    [ 1130.460590] wlan0: disassociating by local choice (reason=3)
    [ 1141.300026] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1141.301550] wlan0: authenticated
    [ 1141.301552] wlan0: associate with AP 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b
    [ 1141.303854] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:06:25:e9:fa:0b (capab=0x401 status=0 aid=1)
    [ 1141.303857] wlan0: associated
    [ 1141.304359] wlan0: disassociating by local choice (reason=3)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •