Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I have Ubuntu 9.04 . I have bought a new reliance broadband+ . When i plug it,its not detecting. I am unable to use that. My modem is HUAWEI EC1260. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless broadband net connect modem not detected

I have Ubuntu 9.04 . I have bought a new reliance broadband+ . When i plug it,its not detecting. I am unable to use that. My modem is HUAWEI EC1260. And I am new to linux. So please help me.

Is this an External or USB modem?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    ^It's external usb modem, data card type.

What do you see if you execute command
    tail /var/log/messages
    After connecting the modem?

Tried wvdialconf /etc/wvdial.conf?

Linux Guru
    In Ubuntu 9.04, you should be able to use NetworkManager to connect.

Right-click the NetworkManager icon, found next to the Date/Time. Select "Edit Connections", then select the "Mobile Broadband" tab. The click the "+Add" button, a "New Connection Wizard" should start up. Input the proper info for your device and account.

Edit: It is possible that your provider isn't listed. You will then have to select an existing provider, and edit it to create a new one. According to this blog, it should work out-of-the-box on 9.04:

Reliance Netconnect Broadband+ (Wireless broadband) + Linux An Idea

Here is some more info, if you use wvdial:

How to use Reliance Broadband+ Netconnect with Ubuntu Linux - Reliance Broadband Plus - Mobile Broadband 3G India - Forum India
    Last edited by waterhead; 08-02-2009 at 01:00 PM.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!