Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi folks, Im fairly new to linux. My laptop is hp dv5 with broadcom 4312 wireless. I read that linksys wireless dongle wusb54gc v3 works ok for all the tricks ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

make a usb wireless dongle work

Hi folks, Im fairly new to linux. My laptop is hp dv5 with broadcom 4312 wireless. I read that linksys wireless dongle wusb54gc v3 works ok for all the tricks in bt4, but I dont know how to make it work. The cd that came with it is just for windows. Aparantly I need a driver called rt73. but I dont know how to install it or how to disable the inbuilt broadcom and use the linksys. Can anyone pls tell me where to go to learn or give me some helping advice pls. Many thanks.
    Ive got three drivers downloaded:railink rt73 and a couple of others, but dont know what to do with them. Ive got no hair now cos Ive pulled it all out. please can someone help me?

The driver should be in the kernel since 2.6.25. But you may need firmware. Please post the output of
    Code:
    dmesg | grep firmware
    And just to confirm, post the output of
    Code:
    lspci
    lsmod
    as well. (Two separate commands.)

What distro are you using?

Whoops, it's a USB wireless adapter. Scratch the lspci bit and give us lsusb

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    hello mr reed 9!
    Right, I just typed in the first command (dmesg | grep firmware) and absolutely nothing came up or was displayed. 2.6.28-14 I think is the kernal. - Im using jaunty ubuntu at the moment, but want to get this wireless dongle working so that I can use back track 4 and any other distro that doesn't support broadcom 4312. - I read somewhere that if I try ndis it wont let me use all the tricks in bt.
    This is the result of lsusb:
    boo@boo-laptop:~$ lsusb
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 003: ID 1737:0077 Linksys