Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm new to linux and have been trying for a while to get my wireless card working, It's an asus 802.11g card, chipset is ralink rt2500. Mobo is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Damn small linux & rt2500

Hi all,
    I'm new to linux and have been trying for a while to get my wireless card working, It's an asus 802.11g card, chipset is ralink rt2500.
    Mobo is asus A8v delux
    I've looked on plenty of forums but as yet havent managed to get it to do anything, I'm useing dsl, first I carnt get "wlconfig" to detect my card, I have found it in "lspci" but dont know what to do next, I've also dowloaded what I think to be the correct driver for it but again, dont know how to retrieve it from my usb flash card but have located it useing "lsusb".
    any help would be great.

The driver you downloaded is compatible with Damn Small Linux 2.4 Kernel?

I ran DSL and ended up having to run AntiX instead to get my wireless going. It has the 2.6.27 kernel which has good support for wireless and is a low resource distro like DSL.

Waterhead might have some better advice though when he sees your post though.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    have got a little further, tryed "lspci -knn" and found the id for the card but dont know where or what to do with it,lol, sure its doable, just dont know how...

I dont know if it makes a difference but im running dsl straight from disk, its not installed to a HD.

I dont know if the driver i downloaded is compatable or not, I have the original driver disk but know the driver im useing (on xp)is an updated version I got from microsoft.

I dont know if it makes a difference but im running dsl straight from disk