Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43
There is the option in NetworkManager to create a new connection. Try that or the "Connect to a hidden network" option. I am afraid that if it can't connect, something ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593

    There is the option in NetworkManager to create a new connection. Try that or the "Connect to a hidden network" option.

    I am afraid that if it can't connect, something may be wrong. Maybe the configuration isn't correct.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27
    the key on my school's wifi is 37d4a08184, so it should be WEP?

    there's a lot of options in NetworkManager icon in creating new wireless connection, there's WEP/WPA, open/shared option, index option 1-4 etc. so what should i choose in creating a wireless connection?

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    I have no idea. Can you get this info from someone that already has a connection?
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27
    Can you get this info from someone that already has a connection?
    My classmates were using windows and it just connect automatically. And they dont know if its WEP/ WPA etc. either.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Yes, but look at the connection details to see what it says.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27
    Hello waterhead.

    I went to my friend's place this morning and he has a wireless network, so i did create new wireless connection from networkmanagericon, set the correct password/key , network name and type of network( it's WPA2). After a few seconds, the icon from the system tray says "connecting", but authentication pop up always appear, so i always put the right password, but it keeps in pop up-ing the 'authentication required' so i always put the correct password, and the icon stays on "connecting" but i never got a chance to be connected.

    btw, one of my problem is there is a network that is not hidden but no networks are listed in my networkmanager icon.

  7. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Well, you may want to try the Wicd connection manager instead. This will mean uninstalling NetworkManager. I don't see any for Fedora 11, but maybe one for fedora 10 will work.

    Index of /pkgs/stable/1.6.x/1.6.2/Fedora_10
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27
    Hello guys.

    Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

    So i'm really sick and tired in figuring it out so i decided to upgrade my fedora 10 to fedora 11 by using "preupgrade" on the terminal yum

    The upgrade and installation was successful (took me 10 hours). But my problem is still not solve.

    Here are the new information from my upgrade

    lspci
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
    02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8187SE Wireless LAN Controller (rev 22)
    lsmod
    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    joydev                  9220  0 
    fuse                   49460  2 
    sco                    16160  2 
    bridge                 43864  0 
    stp                     1964  1 bridge
    llc                     4936  2 bridge,stp
    bnep                   14908  2 
    l2cap                  32420  3 bnep
    bluetooth              77096  5 sco,bnep,l2cap
    sunrpc                155660  1 
    ip6t_REJECT             4532  2 
    nf_conntrack_ipv6      17732  2 
    ip6table_filter         3144  1 
    ip6_tables             10956  1 ip6table_filter
    ipv6                  235656  24 ip6t_REJECT,nf_conntrack_ipv6
    cpufreq_ondemand        6432  2 
    acpi_cpufreq            8856  0 
    dm_multipath           14036  0 
    uinput                  6676  0 
    pcspkr                  2168  0 
    usb_storage            46644  0 
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   193372  1 
    iTCO_wdt               10360  0 
    iTCO_vendor_support     2752  1 iTCO_wdt
    i2c_i801               10204  0 
    snd_hda_intel          24272  2 
    snd_hda_codec          59428  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep               6724  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm                62796  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_timer              17864  1 snd_pcm
    r8169                  28412  0 
    snd                    50336  10 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
    mii                     4044  1 r8169
    soundcore               5476  1 snd
    snd_page_alloc          7776  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    wmi                     5868  0 
    ata_generic             4288  0 
    pata_acpi               3644  0 
    i915                  154292  2 
    drm                   168260  2 i915
    i2c_algo_bit            4804  1 i915
    video                  18708  1 i915
    output                  2440  1 video
    i2c_core               24984  4 i2c_i801,i915,drm,i2c_algo_bit
    dmesg | grep firmware
    Code:
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-1c-02
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-1c-02
    ndiswrapper -l
    Code:
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper, it will be ignored in a future release.
    net8187se : driver installed
    	device (10EC:8199) pr
    iwlist scan
    Code:
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    pan0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    /sbin/iwconfig
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    pan0      no wireless extensions.
    kernel
    Code:
    Fedora 11 (2.6.30.5-43..fc11.i686.PAE)
    I'm still hoping to use wifi in my upgraded f11.

    anyway, i can play .flv movies in f10, but when i switch to f11, i cant play it anymore and it says it needs something, but when i try to search it, it will say nothing found.

    Hope you can help me with my wireless problem.

    and last thing, this is the screenshot of my networkmanagericon when in fedora 10

    hxxp://img233.imageshack.us/img233/6105/28319234.jpg (change xx to tt)

    and this is when i upgraded to fedora 11

    hxxp://img84.imageshack.us/img84/5333/aw2.jpg

    Thanks

  9. #19
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    You now have no driver loading for the wireless.

    In more recent kernels there should be a Linux driver for the Realtek rtl8187se. I am surprised that it didn't automatically load. You can try to manually load it, but first use the su command to gain root privileges.
    Code:
    modprobe rtl8187se
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    27
    Okay. This is what I did. I uninstall the ndiswrapper, delete the remaining files from /etc/modprobe.d and reinstall again the ndiswrapper by using "yum install kmod-ndiswrapper" and "yum install ndiswrapper" on the terminal.

    After i install the ndiswrapper again,

    i followed again the video tutorial,
    Code:
    step 1. ndiswrapper -i net8187se.inf   - successful
    step 2. ndiswrapper -m 		       - sucessful
    step 3. ifconfig wlan0 up	       - "wlan0: unknown interface: No such device"

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •