Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
And you had no luck using WICD? Are you seeing any error messages with the dmesg command? Code: dmesg You might be able to grep it down a little bit ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864

    And you had no luck using WICD?
    Are you seeing any error messages with the dmesg command?
    Code:
    dmesg
    You might be able to grep it down a little bit with
    Code:
    dmesg | grep eth1
    Do you have some conflicting modules? Post the output of
    Code:
    lsmod
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie blnl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    In fact, I have created another problem.

    My computer suddenly always starts with the following error message.
    Code:
    Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface. Check the wicd log for error messages.
    Do you know how to fix that.
    It's killing me. I liked WICD and I installed it on the HEALTHY computer as well. My both systems start with this message. Luckily I still have Internet access.
    Fedora20.GNOME@Dell_Latitude_E6410
    Fedora14.GNOME@HP_Compaq_DC7100

  3. #13
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Do you have dbus running on these machines?
    Which distro are you using? See if you can find a program called "Services" and make sure DBUS and WICD are set to start on boot.
    This post explains how he solved it, but he used YAST....I don't know if you have that.
    Solved : Could not connect to wicd’s D-Bus interface | Spirit of Change
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie blnl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Yes I have YAST, but both services DBUS and WICD are started and running.
    The distro I'm using is openSUSE 11.0 (on both machines).

    By the way, the HEALTHY machine fixed itself. I don't know how, but I did do much, I just consumed some updates.

    The problem is still present on the other machine. I'll try to do the same there.
    Fedora20.GNOME@Dell_Latitude_E6410
    Fedora14.GNOME@HP_Compaq_DC7100

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie blnl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    I have managed to start WICD again on FAULTY machine. However, my (until recently) HEALTHY machine suffers again form "Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface. Check the wicd log for error messages." (but this time I didn't do anything, only rebooted)

    It appears that some of the consumed updates are affecting my NFS configuration. So I can't access my network drive any more from any of my machines.

    I have to stop debugging my WPA problem and fix NFS first. Without network drive I'm crippled, all my files are there.
    Fedora20.GNOME@Dell_Latitude_E6410
    Fedora14.GNOME@HP_Compaq_DC7100

  6. #16
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I found a report of this being solved by adding the user to the "users" group.
    Code:
    useradd -G users username
    Change username to a valid user name and then restart Dbus/WICD
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie blnl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    163
    Now, I have restored my both systems (from backups) in the previous state (as it was before WICD installation).

    I believe that it is clear now that NetworkManager is not to blame. So I would prefer to continue debugging in my current configuration. I'll deal with WICD later when the WAP issue is fixed.

    I also believe that wpa_supplicant.conf is all right, as my HEALTHY system worked with both NetworkMnager and WICD with his original wpa_supplicant.conf,
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    So to continue debugging, you asked for some more info.
    Please find the following links with the requested info:
    Fedora20.GNOME@Dell_Latitude_E6410
    Fedora14.GNOME@HP_Compaq_DC7100

  8. #18
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by blnl View Post
    Now, I have restored my both systems (from backups) in the previous state (as it was before WICD installation).

    I believe that it is clear now that NetworkManager is not to blame. So I would prefer to continue debugging in my current configuration. I'll deal with WICD later when the WAP issue is fixed.

    I also believe that wpa_supplicant.conf is all right, as my HEALTHY system worked with both NetworkMnager and WICD with his original wpa_supplicant.conf,
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    So to continue debugging, you asked for some more info.
    Please find the following links with the requested info:
    I've never seen some of these errors before, do you have more than one network card on the machine with troubles?
    martian source 255.255.255.255 from 192.168.1.1, on dev eth1
    Post the output of
    Code:
    lspci |grep -i net
    dmesg | grep -i firmware
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #19
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Hi,

    I can't see any one thing that may be causing your problems either. You could try disabling any firewall, also disable SELinux.

    When you tried Wicd, did you uninstall NetworkManager? You would need to uninstall it.

    As a last resort, remove both Networkmanager and Wicd. Then connect by first setting up a proper wpa_supplicant.conf file. Then use the ifup/ifdown commands to control the wireless and wired connections. This is an option in the YaST Network configuration section.

    The problem could also be in the wireless router/access point. Don't use WPA2 or AES, just use plain old WPA-TKIP
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    One other thing:
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    Make sure that your user is a member of the "wheel" group. I think that this can be done in YaST too.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •