Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Yesterday a forum member was good enough to get my laptop wireless working - I fiddled around with some downloads afterwards trying to get my dvd player to work but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56

    acer update


    Yesterday a forum member was good enough to get my laptop wireless working -
    I fiddled around with some downloads afterwards trying to get my dvd player to work but otherwise I left well enough alone.
    This morning - top right hand screen says no network connection - have I upset something somewhere....

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Is it not showing any wireless connection available through the networkmanager?

    What is the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Does
    [code]sudo iwlist wlan0 scan/code]
    list your wireless network?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    In your other thread, you reported a signal strength of 28%. This is not very strong, and could be responsible for your connection problems. If the wireless access-point/router is in another room, the signal may be partially blocked by walls.

    I have a similar wireless in my Eee PC, but to be exactly sure run this command.
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep Atheros
    This is what my output is, note the ID number in the brackets [ ].
    Code:
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)
    Then, post the output of this command. It will give more detailed connection information. You can remove sensitive info, like the SSID name.
    Code:
    iwconfig
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56
    ifconfig -a without touchinjg anything except for moving the acer closer to the hub

    pan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 66:80:03:a3:d8:4a
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:3a:68:22:00
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1F-3A-68-22-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP RUNNING MTU:0 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56
    [code]sudo iwlist wlan0 scan/code]
    says command not found - typed from terminal


    06:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)

    iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=27 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    pan0 no wireless extensions.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    I mistyped.
    [code]sudo iwlist wlan0 scan/code] should be
    Code:
    sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    Forgot the bracket.

    The ultimate point is, are you seeing any wireless networks, either via network manager, or this alternative method?

    Are you using wireless encryption and do you know what kind, WEP or WPA/WPA2?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Thank you for the info.

    Reed9 had a typo in that command, he meant this:
    Code:
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    On my system, it seemed to use a variable connection rate. I forced it to use the maximum rate, and it seems to have stayed that way permanently. Try it, and see if you connection improves any.
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56
    wlan0 No scan results

    iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M
    Error for wireless request "Set Bit Rate" (8B20) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not permitted.

    Between typing in code I unpluggeed the eth cable to test the wireless - very briefly the netgear word appeared together with the going around in circles thingy - but it did not connect - then returned to no signal

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Sorry, use sudo.
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56
    Sorry, am I going wrong somewhere - in a terminal !

    sudo iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M

    command not found

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •