Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie, will always be to Linux. I've been using Ubuntu 8.04 now for a couple of years. I use a Belkin 5FD7050 v 4000 USB device zd1211rw ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Wireless USB devices

I am a newbie, will always be to Linux. I've been using Ubuntu 8.04 now for a couple of years.
    I use a Belkin 5FD7050 v 4000 USB device zd1211rw is the driver.

I want a reference that gives me the howto's and why's of all those commands related to wireless.
    Most of the howto's say do this and do that. I want to know why. Kind of a ground up approach. Can anyone refer me to such a reference?

Most of the time when I boot Ubuntu I get my wireless connection. After my computer is shutdown for a while, and I boot to 8.04, I have difficulty getting a connection. I also have 9.04 and 9.10 installed on my harddrive and they are pretty good about giving me an automatic connection on bootup. If I then go from 9.04 or 9.10 and boot to 8.04, I can get a connection. So a cold boot into 8.04 results about 50% of the time in no connection.

I suspect my usb device is a little sleepy when it comes to 8.04, and I am just trying to perfect it. The zd1211rw is apparently a native driver I wonder if there is another device installed that sometimes conflicts with my zd1211rw "driver".

I use lsusb, lshw -C network, iwconfig etc. Just learning about modprobe, blacklisting, and lsmod, and a few others.

The gnome-network-manager has never worked for me from 8.10 back to Dapper Drake. The system freezes when I use it. On 9.10 the network manager works flawlessly for me.

I know wireless connections can be a problem with Linux, or at least Ubuntu and there are many variables.

Just want a reference to understand it better, from the ground up

An inquiring mind wants to know.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.