Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hii, I have an Ubuntu-8.10 version;quite old i know. I have been having a strange problem and I have tried all things-googling and tried all things.In my college I can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    R_G
    R_G is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Getting connected to the Internet


    Hii,

    I have an Ubuntu-8.10 version;quite old i know.
    I have been having a strange problem and I have tried all things-googling and tried all things.In my college I can easily connect to the wireless connection and even the LAN there and browse the internet.But at home I have a broadband connectn thru a modem and I cant connect to it.It shows the wireless connctn but doesnt connect.

    I even edited the Connection Settings and in the KEY1 put the password for my modem connection in the WIRELESS SECURITY box.but still it doesnt connect.
    Please guide me.

    Regards!!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Let's start by getting more info.

    Read this and post the requested info.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    Please state the model of the modem

  4. #4
    R_G
    R_G is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Daham View Post
    Hi,

    Please state the model of the modem
    ADSL type IV

    Is this u are asking for?

  5. #5
    R_G
    R_G is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3

    Trying to connect to the internet

    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    Let's start by getting more info.

    Read this and post the requested info.
    I have already read this but its of not much help.

    This is what I follow to get my laptop connected to wireless:-

    System->Preferences->Network Configuration
    It opens a window with some options.I click on Wireless and try and edit the details about my wireless connectn which it is showng but cant connect.

    There are 3 lists which I need to edit.
    WIRELESS
    SSID: my connctn's ID
    MODE:Infrastructure
    BSSID:
    MAC Address:
    MTU:Automatic

    WIRELESS SECURITY
    WEP 40/128 bit hexadecimal
    WEP index :Key1(default)
    KEy type is where Im confusd.OPEN KEY or SHARED KEY- i dont know.

    In windows to connect to my modem I enter my user name and the password assigned to me.Where I am supposed to do this in Linux??Where do I enter this password nd username??

    Some troubleshooting guides suggested to type 192.168.1.1 in Mozilla Firefox and enter username as ADMIN, and Password as PASSWORD.It didnt work.Infact no page opened.

    Last List IPv4 Settings

    Automatic DHCP

    Please point out where I am making a mistake.
    I am quite keen to be more of a Linux user but my failure to get the internet started there hampers this.

    Thanks!!
    Kindly spend a little time to suggest a way out.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    The info in the wireless sticky was more for us to know a little bit about your hardware and drivers. Some drivers have trouble with WPA/WPA2 connections for example. But you are using WEP, so that shouldn't be an issue.

    Some troubleshooting guides suggested to type 192.168.1.1 in Mozilla Firefox and enter username as ADMIN, and Password as PASSWORD.It didnt work.Infact no page opened.
    This would be the process for logging into a router and hoping those are the default username/password.

    One of these pages might be helpful.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DialupModemHowto
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsbAdslModem

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    4
    As your initial problem is connecting to the internet through an ADSL modem the model should be

    Something like
    e.g.~ Prolink H9601

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •