Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
First off....Happy New Year to all! I think I have a problem with no firmware installed! This is my info: [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# /sbin/lsusb Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:0151 Realtek ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation [Solved] Help for new member with wireless firmware


    First off....Happy New Year to all!

    I think I have a problem with no firmware installed! This is my info:

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# /sbin/lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:0151 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. Mass Stroage Device
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 050d:705a Belkin Components F5D7050A Wireless Adapter
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0dc6:3412 Precision Squared Technology Corp.
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    appletalk 27128 20
    psnap 2708 1 appletalk
    llc 4944 1 psnap
    oss_usb 95116 0
    oss_hdaudio 126772 0
    lynxtwo 215044 0
    osscore 560148 3 oss_usb,oss_hdaudio,lynxtwo
    nfsd 206692 9
    lockd 59416 1 nfsd
    nfs_acl 2472 1 nfsd
    auth_rpcgss 31020 1 nfsd
    sunrpc 155680 11 nfsd,lockd,nfs_acl,auth_rpcgss
    ipv6 235720 54
    xfs 417792 1
    exportfs 3620 2 nfsd,xfs
    dm_multipath 14044 0
    arc4 1600 2
    ecb 2476 2
    rt73usb 21276 0
    crc_itu_t 1604 1 rt73usb
    rt2500usb 17380 0
    rt2x00usb 9016 2 rt73usb,rt2500usb
    rt2x00lib 33348 3 rt73usb,rt2500usb,rt2x00usb
    input_polldev 3220 1 rt2x00lib
    mac80211 175072 2 rt2x00usb,rt2x00lib
    usb_storage 46548 0
    ppdev 6500 0
    cfg80211 51620 2 rt2x00lib,mac80211
    forcedeth 47672 0
    i2c_nforce2 7352 0
    parport_pc 22616 0
    pata_jmicron 2800 0
    pcspkr 2176 0
    serio_raw 5096 0
    parport 28936 2 ppdev,parport_pc
    wmi 5872 0
    asus_atk0110 10468 0
    hwmon 2576 1 asus_atk0110
    ata_generic 4296 0
    pata_acpi 3652 0
    nouveau 435152 0
    drm 168336 1 nouveau
    i2c_algo_bit 4812 1 nouveau
    i2c_core 24992 4 i2c_nforce2,nouveau,drm,i2c_algo_bit

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# dmesg | grep firmware
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-17-0a
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-17-0a
    rt73usb 2-4:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin
    phy1 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.
    rt73usb 2-4:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin
    phy1 -> rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Error - Failed to request Firmware.

    Im using Fedora as follows
    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# uname -r
    2.6.30.10-105.fc11.i686.PAE

    I can also post the ifcfg-wlan0 file if needed.

    Please not this unit is command line only so its harder for me to work with it.

    Thank you in advance

    Jesus R
    Last edited by vortecjr; 01-02-2010 at 04:14 PM. Reason: solved

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    There appears to be a package for the firmware, called rt73usb-firmware. Have you installed that?

    https://admin.fedoraproject.org/pkgd...73usb-firmware

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    Reed9, thanks for the helping! I downloaded one from ralink and dropped it in the lib/firmware folder. A few minutes ago. these are some updates:

    still getting some issues with it though...
    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# dmesg | grep firmware
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-17-0a
    platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-17-0a
    rt73usb 1-4:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# ifup wlan0
    Determining IP information for wlan0... failed.

    I can see it on my itouch in wifi networks though

    Jesus R

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    The requesting message is normal, and not returning an error so that's good.

    Post the output of
    Code:
    su -
    iwconfig
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    Does the iwlist command return available networks?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    reed9, wow some good news ok

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"vortexboxces"
    Mode:Ad-Hoc Frequency:2.412 GHz Cell: D2:6B:26:66:50:B5
    Tx-Power=18 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    [vortexbox.localdomain ~]# iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:12:17:319:00
    Channel:6
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality=66/70 Signal level=-44 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    ESSID:"linksysJR"
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    Mode:Master
    Extra:tsf=0000018bfe84f6e1
    Extra: Last beacon: 437ms ago
    IE: Unknown: 00096C696E6B7379734A52
    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
    IE: Unknown: 030106
    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
    IE: Unknown: DD06001018020004
    Cell 02 - Address: D2:6B:26:66:50:B5
    Channel:1
    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
    Quality=70/70 Signal level=-22 dBm
    Encryption key:off
    ESSID:"vortexboxces"
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    Mode:Ad-Hoc
    Extra:tsf=0000000002ad0d14
    Extra: Last beacon: 781ms ago
    IE: Unknown: 000C766F72746578626F78636573
    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
    IE: Unknown: 030101
    IE: Unknown: 06020000
    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
    IE: Unknown: 2F0100
    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
    IE: Unknown: DD09001018020010000000


    Thanks

    Jesus R

  7. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Everything looks fine as far as the network device goes. What are you using to manage your connections? You said this is a console only box? Fedora I think has a curses based network config tool, system-config-network-tui. Have you used that?

    Howto Red hat enterprise Linux 5 configure the network card

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    Reed9, the system-config-network-tui works and is up. I added the device and its working know...

    thanks you!

    Jesus R

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •