Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Have you rebooted since installing the new driver? If not, please do! Also, then post the outputs of these commands: lsmod dmesg ifconfig iwconfig...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593

    Have you rebooted since installing the new driver? If not, please do!

    Also, then post the outputs of these commands:

    lsmod
    dmesg
    ifconfig
    iwconfig
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Pls find the requested files attached.
    1. dmesg.txt is too large to upload. Is there something in particular to grep for?
    2. iwconfig.txt is 0 bytes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #23
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    The rt3070sta driver is not loading. Did you modify it to add your wireless ID to the driver? This needs to be done first.

    I also see the ndiswrapper module loading. If you aren't using it, you need to blacklist it. It will interfere with the Ralink driver.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Good news. The device appeared in the network config. I needed:
    insmod /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rt3070sta.ko

    Is there a file in /etc so I don't have to repeat this command?

    p.

  5. #25
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Usually just using modprobe is enough. With modprobe you only need to give the module name.

    Have you tried it with only modprobe? You may need to run the depmod command, that should help it load automatically. (as root)
    Code:
    depmod -a
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    1. Now, after startup, network connections lists wireless and lists available local networks, of which
    mine is one.
    2. I can connect to my wireless network.
    3. However, there is no internet access thru the router.
    4. I can get internet access if I bypass the router with a wire.

    pete

  7. #27
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    After getting the wireless to work, did you configure it in the "Network: GUI as I outlined previously?

    In the Network setup GUI, you may need to enter the default gateway. This would be the IP address of your router.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    1. I managed to get the wusb100 working correctly for a few days.
    2. At that time, I was also getting a yum update error:
    Running rpm_check_debug
    ERROR with rpm_check_debug vs depsolve:
    kernel-uname-r = 2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686 is needed by (installed) kmod-rt2870-2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686-2.1.2.0-4.fc10.1.i686
    kernel-uname-r = 2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686 is needed by (installed) kmod-ndiswrapper-2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686-1.53-5.fc10.33.i686
    3. Based on a newsgroup posting, I did 'rpm -e' for
    a) kmod-rt2870-2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686-2.1.2.0-4.fc10.1.i686
    b) kmod-ndiswrapper-2.6.27.41-170.2.117.fc10.i686-1.53-5.fc10.33.i686
    4. This corrected the yum error and allowed kernel 2.6.32.11-99.fc12.i686
    to download.
    5. After I rebooted, the wusb100 stopped working.
    6. Then I did a 'make clean', 'make', 'make install' on the download
    from ralink corp. (with the changes discussed previously).
    7. 'ralink' did not appear as a device on the Network Manager.
    8. 'yum installed' 'rt3070-2.1.1.0-3.fc12.1.noarch' and 'rt2870-2.1.2.0-2.fc12.1.noarch'.
    9. Neither installation loaded the module.
    10. 'insmod /lib/modules/2.6.32.11-99.fc12.i686/extra/rt3070/rt3070sta.ko'
    loaded the module but ralink did not show up as a device.
    11. 'insmod /lib/modules/2.6.32.11-99.fc12.i686/extra/rt2870/rt2870sta.ko'
    displays insmod: error inserting '/lib/modules/2.6.32.11-99.fc12.i686/extra/rt2870/rt2870sta.ko': -1 Device or resource busy

  9. #29
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    It looks like you were using a ndiswrapper package meant for Fedora 10. If you lost you wireless after removing it, then you must have been using ndiswrapper for your wireless, and not the rt2870 driver.

    With ndiswrapper removed, try using the rt2870 driver again.

    And PLEASE start your own thread! This thread was started by someone else, and you tagged your problem on to it. That is usually not allowed.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Can anyone post a compiled Version of the Driver?
    Thanks

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •