Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi i have been trying for weeks to get wireless to work an set up my essid nothing is working..i'm running vmware with ubuntu 8.10...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    wireless problems


    Hi i have been trying for weeks to get wireless to work an set up my essid nothing is working..i'm running vmware with ubuntu 8.10
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    hope someone can help me with this problem..

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Welcome to LinuxForums!

    What distro are you running?
    It looks like you already have the drivers you need: rt3070sta

    What is the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Reply to Thread

    I suffered from this problem,I intend to wireless internet,but I always fail to connt the network,very terrible.I don't know how to solve the problem,Perhaps something wrong with my laptop or network operator.
    ecvv.com/product_directory/Laptop.html

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    Hi Jay sry about the takin time to get back anyways when i do ifconfig -a this is what i get.

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:29:98:27:42
    inet addr:192.168.0.100 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe98:2742/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:972 (972.0 B)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:376 (376.0 B) TX bytes:376 (376.0 B)

    ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:1f:2f:ca:4c
    inet6 addr: fe80::21f:1fff:fe2f:ca4c/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:304 (304.0 B)

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Looks like you've got an active card.
    What's the output of
    Code:
    iwlist scan ra0
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    alright i did iwlist ra0 scan everything seems alright but for some reason i can not surf the net

    root@bt:~# iwlist ra0 scan
    ra0 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:02:72:55:9E:A7
    Protocol:802.11b/g
    ESSID:"MyWLAN"
    Mode:Managed
    Channel:11
    Quality:18/100 Signal level:-83 dBm Noise level:-97 dBm
    Encryption key:off
    Bit Rates:18 Mb/s

    ps i'm at a friends plc an she has an open connection an i still can't surf the net for some reason..kinda fustrating..

  9. #8
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    You should be able to open Network Manager on your desktop and configure a connection from there.
    Just put in your type of connection (DHCP?), security type (none), etc.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •