Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
As for network, please clarify what you mean. If a network is detected, it should have a name. eg: Network1 Linksys Staubucks Are you able to select or choose one? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    As for network, please clarify what you mean.
    If a network is detected, it should have a name.
    eg:
    Network1
    Linksys
    Staubucks

    Are you able to select or choose one?
    If so, does it ask for a password of any sort?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Which operating system do you have?
    Based on the kernel output from uname, it's got to be Xandros, the stock eee pc distro.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    I expect he means any local networks. Generally, you will have an option to detect networks and it will show you any networks withing range of where you are. That is, locations with wireless access points. Do you have a wireless access point at the location you are working at? does your friend have one? are you trying to connect elsewhere?

    The wireless access point would need to be setup and with WEP it should have an ESSID name and you will need that to connect. If you are near coffee shops, libraries or other places with WAP connections, they should be detected with whatever network connection you have.

    Which operating system do you have?

    Operating System is Debian 4. And the notebook does detect networks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Hi.
    Sorry, but I checked the laptop again, and it isn't detecting the network although the wireless functionality is on.
    Please help.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Laptop recognises netwwork. When i try to connect, it accepts the details but just says pending for quite a while

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    This is what happens when I try connecting to a network



    Configuring interface ath0=lan10 (inet)
    run-parts --verbose /etc/network/if-pre-up.d
    Starting WPA wireless connection...
    1270105615.861490: Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.ath0' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
    1270105615.861567: Unsupported driver 'wext'.

    1270105615.861572: Failed to add interface ath0
    1270105615.861604: Cancelling scan request
    ERROR: wpa_supplicant.conf.ath0 is invalid!
    ifconfig $IFACE up
    dhclient3 -cf /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.$LOGICAL.conf -pf /var/run/dhclient.$IFACE.pid -lf /var/run/dhclient.$IFACE.leases $IFACE
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.


    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/ath0/00:15:af:95:90:1f
    Sending on LPF/ath0/00:15:af:95:90:1f
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    run-parts --verbose /etc/network/if-up.d
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #17
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by Ojeiku View Post
    This is what happens when I try connecting to a network



    Configuring interface ath0=lan10 (inet)
    run-parts --verbose /etc/network/if-pre-up.d
    Starting WPA wireless connection...
    1270105615.861490: Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.ath0' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
    1270105615.861567: Unsupported driver 'wext'.

    1270105615.861572: Failed to add interface ath0
    1270105615.861604: Cancelling scan request
    ERROR: wpa_supplicant.conf.ath0 is invalid!
    ifconfig $IFACE up
    dhclient3 -cf /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.$LOGICAL.conf -pf /var/run/dhclient.$IFACE.pid -lf /var/run/dhclient.$IFACE.leases $IFACE
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.


    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/ath0/00:15:af:95:90:1f
    Sending on LPF/ath0/00:15:af:95:90:1f
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    run-parts --verbose /etc/network/if-up.d
    Are you providing the SSID and Passphrase to connect to that particular network?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by retired1af View Post
    Are you providing the SSID and Passphrase to connect to that particular network?


    Yes. It just says pending but never connects.
    Thanks for any help given

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •