Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hi there, i have been having problems with my wireless card for a while now it just refuses to work! so i have decided to act! Tenda W332P PCI wireless-n ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18

    [ubuntu] tenda w322p pci card problems


    hi there,

    i have been having problems with my wireless card for a while now
    it just refuses to work!
    so i have decided to act!
    Tenda W332P PCI wireless-n (draft 2.0)
    i believe it is a pre-v2.0 version (v2.0 is the one mainly on the internet)

    more info:
    googlesearch: "[ubuntu] problem with tenda w322p installation" then first link
    (look for the replies to LordAro) (i can't post it as a link for silly reasons)

    lots of outputs: wirelessproblems.txt/.zip
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    i don't see anything detected in that output for wireless

    are you sure the card is seated in correctly? what version of ubuntu are you using? does the card work with any other OS/distro?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    The wireless is here
    Code:
    00:08.0 Network controller [0280]: RaLink RT2800 802.11n PCI [1814:0601]
    	Kernel modules: rt3562sta, rt2800pci, rt2860sta
    Currently, ndiswrapper is the only driver loading. There are two linux drivers, though quality can be a little iffy on both, from what I understand. The open source rt2800pci driver or ralink has a rt2860sta. The latter can be downloaded from their website. I'm not familiar with rt3562sta listed above. Have to look into that.

    rt2860sta also requires firmware, I believe, which is near the bottom of the download page.

    Here's a how to on compiling software.

    Once you have that installed, blacklist ndiswrapper and make sure rt2860sta loads.
    Code:
    echo "blacklist ndiswrapper" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    echo "rt2860sta" | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    Reboot. Check if networkmanager is showing your network.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    i don't see anything detected in that output for wireless

    are you sure the card is seated in correctly? what version of ubuntu are you using? does the card work with any other OS/distro?
    yes - lights are on, 10.04, also tried with 9.10 before i upgraded, haven't tried any other os (planning to)

    @reed9
    minor problems with that:
    when i try to unpack the 2010_07_16_RT2860_Linux_STA_v2.4.0.0.tar.bz2, it comes up with the following errors:
    Code:
    bzip2: (stdin) is not a bzip2 file
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
    by the looks of things, this is a problem at their end, with their file, yes?

    also, i'm not sure how to compile the firmware, or even if i've got the right file
    i downloaded the RT2860_Firmware_V26.zip but inside is only the license and a .bin file (rt2860.bin) and i'm not sure what to do with them...

  5. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    It's sort of a problem on their end. Linux doesn't traditionally care about file extensions the way windows does and the archive manager should know better than to fail because a gzipped file ends with bz2.

    The file command can give useful info in cases like this
    Code:
    file 2010_07_16_RT2860_Linux_STA_v2.4.0.0.tar.bz2 
    2010_07_16_RT2860_Linux_STA_v2.4.0.0.tar.bz2: gzip compressed data, from Unix, last modified: Thu Jul 15 07:09:16 2010
    From the console do
    Code:
    tar xvzf 2010_07_16_RT2860_Linux_STA_v2.4.0.0.tar.bz2
    The firmware is a binary blob, no compiling required. Just stick the .bin file in /lib/firmware

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    ah! we're getting somewhere now!
    i can see the network!
    problem is now, click on it to connect, and the password request box comes up 3-4 times, then it gives up trying to connect

    network admin has assured me the password is correct
    can provide pics if you need them
    can also probably persuade admin to take password off for a couple of mins while i try to connect again

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    no one?
    i really think i'm getting close now

  8. #8
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Were you able to try it with the encryption disabled? WPA/WPA2 can be problematic for some drivers, I know, though I have no experience with this particular one.

    The default networkmanager has been known to have problems as well, for some people. You could try using Wicd instead.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    good news! i managed to connect with Wicd and no encryption
    such bad signal i couldn't use the internet before it cut out, but i think that's due to the distance, not anything else. we need a repeater...(anyone know a good one?)

    anyway of getting it to connect with encryption?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    info:
    when attempting to connect with encryption, it says:
    Obtaining IP Address Failed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •