Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linspire/Linux. How do I setup a Netgear WNA1100 wirleless adaptor?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linspire and Netgear WNA1100 setup

I am new to Linspire/Linux. How do I setup a Netgear WNA1100 wirleless adaptor?

Use the

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html

and post pertinent info below.

Just guessing but googling showed that the ath9k driver is gonna be needed if it is a USB Netgear WNA1100. Can't say though till you follow above link instructions first.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post

Just guessing but googling showed that the ath9k driver is gonna be needed if it is a USB Netgear WNA1100. Can't say though till you follow above link instructions first.
    If it's a UAB based Atheros, ath9k is useless.

You need the ath9k_htc driver. Atheros' usb chipsets are a whole different ball game from the chipsets found in the pci/pci-e versions.

And the ath9k_htc driver is a complete bag of hurt. Its a very new, infant driver for Atheros USB chipsets which was only recently introduced, and if I remember Linux Wireless' documentation correctly, only the bleeding edge version of compat-wireless has the driver built into the package, and can only be compiled on kernels v2.6.29 or newer.

And i am still pretty sure that, unless that copy of Linspire is running off a custom kernel, 2.6.29 is light years ahead of the stock Linspire kernel.

Quote Originally Posted by Etna View Post
    And i am still pretty sure that, unless that copy of Linspire is running off a custom kernel, 2.6.29 is light years ahead of the stock Linspire kernel.