Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
Hi Paul! Installation of akmod was ok but when I executed this, I got this output. Code: [root@localhost ~]# akmods --akmod wl Checking kmods exist for 2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 [ OK ] ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272

    Hi Paul!

    Installation of akmod was ok but when I executed this, I got this output.

    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# akmods --akmod wl
    Checking kmods exist for 2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686            [  OK  ]
    Files needed for building modules against kernel
    2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 could not be found as the following
    directories are missing:
    /usr/src/kernels/2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686/
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686/build/                 [FAILED]
    
    [root@localhost ~]# uname -r
    2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
    [root@localhost ~]#
    Can you kindly tell me how I can update my kernel to a version that is compatible with the kmods offered please? I usually receive kernel updates automatically. Thanks!
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Quote Originally Posted by nujinini View Post
    Hi Paul!

    Installation of akmod was ok but when I executed this, I got this output.

    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# akmods --akmod wl
    Checking kmods exist for 2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686            [  OK  ]
    Files needed for building modules against kernel
    2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 could not be found as the following
    directories are missing:
    /usr/src/kernels/2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686/
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686/build/                 [FAILED]
    You are building a kernel module, so you need either the kernel headers or kernel source. Install them both:
    Code:
    su -c 'yum install kernel-headers-`uname -r` kernel-devel-`uname -r`'
    Can you kindly tell me how I can update my kernel to a version that is compatible with the kmods offered please? I usually receive kernel updates automatically. Thanks![/QUOTE]
    Code:
     su -c 'yum install kernel-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686'
    You may need to drop the .fc12.i686 from the command.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Hi Paul,

    I installed

    Code:
    [jun@localhost ~]$ su -c 'yum install kernel-headers-`uname -r` kernel-devel-`uname -r`'
    Password: 
    Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
    Setting up Install Process
    Package matching kernel-headers-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 already installed. Checking for update.
    Package kernel-devel-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 already installed and latest version
    Nothing to do
    [jun@localhost ~]$
    Code:
    [jun@localhost ~]$ su -c 'yum install kernel-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686'
    Password: 
    Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
    Setting up Install Process
    Package kernel-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686 already installed and latest version
    Nothing to do
    
    
    [root@localhost ~]# rpm -ivh '/home/jun/Downloads/kmod-wl-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686-5.60.48.36-1.fc12.14.i686.rpm' 
    Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
    	package kmod-wl-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686-5.60.48.36-1.fc12.14.i686 is already installed
    [root@localhost ~]#
    However, when I checked, I still have the old kernel

    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# uname -r
    2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
    [root@localhost ~]#
    The new kernel does not also appear in the grub.lst
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,9)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686)
            root (hd0,9)
            kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686 ro root=UUID=3cc32e4d-2e6f$
            initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686.img
    title Fedora (2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686)
            root (hd0,9)
            kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 ro root=UUID=3cc32e4d-2e6f-$
            initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686.img
    title Other
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
            chainloader +1
    Thanks!

    EDIT: I made a reboot and now I'm running wireless! I still have the old kernel though.

    Code:
    [jun@localhost ~]$ uname -r
    2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
    [jun@localhost ~
    Thanks everyone!
    Last edited by nujinini; 08-27-2010 at 10:03 AM.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Grub lists the 2.6.32.19-163 kernel, and it is also listed as the default kernel. I don't know why it didn't boot into it, you may need to manually select it at boot time.

    It looks like the akmod method is working for the older kernel. Glad it's finally working. If you boot into the newer kernel, you MAY have wireless problems. If so, it could be because you have two modules installed (kmod and akmod). You would then have to uninstall one of them, but don't worry about it unless you have trouble. I think that akmod replaces the module installed by kmod.
    Last edited by waterhead; 08-27-2010 at 10:39 AM.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Grub lists the 2.6.32.19-163 kernel, and it is also listed as the default kernel.
    yeah...I didn't notice that. My eyes tend to play tricks on me me tense

    Anyway, would it not affect my system if i just remove the newer kernel and just wait for the regular updates from fedora?

    If yes, is this the right way to do it please?

    Code:
    #  su -c 'yum remove kernel-2.6.32.19-163.fc12.i686'
    Thanks!
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    You can leave the newer kernel. You may want to update the system, using yum. With root privileges (su) run this:
    Code:
    yum update
    It may take a bit of time, so be prepared for that.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Hi Paul,

    Mmm... it jus took about several seconds and it's done. I hope my system is already ok...


    Code:
    [jun@localhost ~]$ su -
    Password: 
    [root@localhost ~]# yum update
    Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
    adobe-linux-i386                                         |  951 B     00:00     
    rpmfusion-free-updates                                   | 2.8 kB     00:00     
    rpmfusion-nonfree-updates                                | 2.8 kB     00:00     
    updates/metalink                                         | 8.8 kB     00:00     
    Setting up Update Process
    No Packages marked for Update
    [root@localhost ~]#
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  8. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    It doesn't seem right. But if everything is working, don't worry about it. Just enjoy a working system.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  9. #19
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Yeah...

    I guess it's better not to focus on what doesn't seem right. I will definitely enjoy this system. Thanks again Paul!
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •