Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi - Need some help with setup of a wireless device under RedHat Enterprise 5 Linux distribution Facts: - Both LAN card and USB wireless devices are not on the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless USB device setup

Hi -

Need some help with setup of a wireless device under RedHat Enterprise 5 Linux distribution

Facts:

- Both LAN card and USB wireless devices are not on the list of supported devices by Network Man.
    - Got the driver source (for the wireless device - TP-Link) somehow over the internet - STA2780 pack - after compiling got the *.ko module.
    - I can load the module but the story somehow ends here - iwconfig will show nothing that may be configured

Question:

- How to make it work and catch-up with my wireless router

I may say that I am absolute beginner in this Linux constellation, though having more than enough experience with computers.

Many thanks in advance -

Hello and Welcome.
    Start here and post your results back into this thread.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...tart-here.html
    I got to tell you, using almost anything beside RHEL will make things easier for you. Unless there is a compelling reason to use RHEL, I would try a different distro, but that's just my opinion and you are free to do whatever you like. Doesn't RHEL come with paid support? Do you have that option?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    I got from their site a 30 days trial distribution - dunno if I have support from their side. One of my friends recommended me this distribution, as my goal is to get familiar with Linux enterprise like distribution, trying to install Oracle products...