Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on a Sony Vaio PCG-3F1M and I couldn't get it connected to Wifi Internet . It worked fine under vista. The Wireless driver light was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    No wifi with linux using SONY VAIO PCG-3F1M


    I just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on a Sony Vaio PCG-3F1M and I couldn't get it connected to Wifi Internet . It worked fine under vista. The Wireless driver light was on and I could pick the network, I got the message 'established connection' but no internet at all. Any help? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,205
    Quote Originally Posted by mandato View Post
    I just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on a Sony Vaio PCG-3F1M and I couldn't get it connected to Wifi Internet . It worked fine under vista. The Wireless driver light was on and I could pick the network, I got the message 'established connection' but no internet at all. Any help? Thanks in advance.


    Not enough info to help yet.

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    So, you got a connection to the access point, but no internet access? Chances are your DNS settings are incorrect. How did you configure your wireless network? Is it using WEP or WPA security? What is the output of the command (from a command-line): /sbin/ifconfig -a
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    The wireless network is using WPA2. This is what I got from /sbin/ifconfig -a



    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1d:ba:ad:d4:2c   
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1 
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000  
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B) 
              Interrupt:16  
     
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback   
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0 
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host 
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1 
              RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 
              TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0  
              RX bytes:1776 (1.7 KB)  TX bytes:1776 (1.7 KB) 
     
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:5d:f1:52:88   
              inet addr:192.168.2.2  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0 
              inet6 addr: fe80::221:5dff:fef1:5288/64 Scope:Link 
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1 
              RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 
              TX packets:224 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000  
              RX bytes:1153 (1.1 KB)  TX bytes:25916 (25.9 KB)
    Thank you very much! Please let me know if anything else is needed.
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 11-07-2010 at 10:20 PM. Reason: Added code tags

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    Ok. You are connected. Now, post the output from the command "/sbin/route". It should show the default gateway address, which would be your router. Also, post the contents of the /etc/resolv.conf file.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    This is what I get:

    Kernel IP routing table

    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface

    192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0

    link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0

    default 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0



    /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain Belkin
    search Belkin
    nameserver 194.179.1.100
    nameserver 194.179.1.101
    ~

    Thanks for your help

  8. #7
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    Ok. Try to comment out the first two lines of /etc/resolv.conf, the lines that don't start with "nameserver".

    BTW, where are you located? Just curious.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •