Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Did you try using the network tool in the system tray?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864

    Did you try using the network tool in the system tray?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Did you try using the network tool in the system tray?
    I'm not sure which one you mean? I managed to set up a wlan in the connection icon the two computer screen icons but it does not seem to work yet. I don't have any encryption key value for the wireless router, I am not sure what the encryption key is.

    LNNewbie

  3. #13
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by LNNewbie View Post
    I'm not sure which one you mean? I managed to set up a wlan in the connection icon the two computer screen icons but it does not seem to work yet. I don't have any encryption key value for the wireless router, I am not sure what the encryption key is.

    LNNewbie
    You need the WEP/WPA key for the wireless router before you can connect. It's usually listed on the side/bottom of the router with the username and password.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    You need the WEP/WPA key for the wireless router before you can connect. It's usually listed on the side/bottom of the router with the username and password.
    Hi

    I ran the following command:

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig eth1 essid dlink key mykey
    then this command:

    Code:
    sudo dhcpcd eth1
    Which resulted in:

    Code:
    sudo: dhcpcd: command not found
    Still not sure what I need to do to get this going?

    Thanks for all the help so far.

    LNNewbie

  5. #15
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by LNNewbie View Post
    Hi

    I ran the following command:

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig eth1 essid dlink key mykey
    then this command:

    Code:
    sudo dhcpcd eth1
    Which resulted in:

    Code:
    sudo: dhcpcd: command not found
    Still not sure what I need to do to get this going?

    Thanks for all the help so far.

    LNNewbie
    Ok, it's only because I suck with Ubuntu.
    Type the first few letters as such
    sudo dhc
    Now press the tab button and it should autocomplete the command, but you need to add the eth1 part at the end of the command, then you just press enter.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    24
    Hi

    Well I went to the place I was actually wanting to use the wireless (use wired at home) and I put in the network key and away it went. There must be something else I need to do to set up at home although I don't use wlan there but would be interesting to know.

    I will try what you said.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    24
    I think the confusion came from how my home network is set up. We have a router then a hub and it is the hub that has the wireless on it so I am unsure how to do that. In the place that I am using wireless it has the router with the wireless built in and I put in the product key and away it went.

    I could not get wireless working at home, not that I need to but it would have been interesting to figure out what to do to get it working.

    LNNewbie

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •