Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I have just installed CentOS 5 on my Toshiba Satellite harman/kardon Laptop. It runs the Realtek 8192 SE W-Lan Card and I have downloaded the Linux Driver for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Realtek 8192SE on CentOS - Step by Step Guide?

Hi all,

I have just installed CentOS 5 on my Toshiba Satellite harman/kardon Laptop.
    It runs the Realtek 8192 SE W-Lan Card and I have downloaded the Linux Driver for it onto a USB stick using a different machine, as my Toshiba (obviously) is not online.

I have never used Linux before, so I need to have it dumbed down, because the so called step by step guides I found, the commands for the terminal it lists, aren't recognized by my terminal.

I also tried to follow the step in the Sticky up here, but typing the listed commands in the sticky into my terminal only gave me error messages:

Code:
     bash: lspci: command not found
    same for lsmod ... lsusb listed my mouse and usb stick correctly, but no wlan thingi, as I do not have a wlan USB device... but only the built in Realtek Card.

So basically... I have the driver on the USB stick - for easier use, I copied it onto my desktop.

So now, I have the file:

rtl8192se_linux_2.6.0019.1207.2010.tar.gz

on my Desktop, and a Terminal Window open ... What next?

By the way... the Readme provided by Realtek has some How to commands - those as well did not work ...

What am I doing wrong?

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

For some quick and easy lessons on using the Linux command line, check out this site:

LinuxCommand.org: Learn the Linux command line. Write shell scripts.

It might be that with Red Hat and some of its forks, you will need to add more to your commands to get them to work. Maybe try switching to root with the su command like this:

Code:
    su
    or...

Code:
    su -