Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have just started using knoppix and am running it from the live cd it's the newest version to my knowledge. My internet is an atheros ar 5007eg and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Can't get internet working on knoppix


    I have just started using knoppix and am running it from the live cd it's the newest version to my knowledge. My internet is an atheros ar 5007eg and I also have a sis191 ethernet controller. I have wpa wireless.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    22
    I would bet your drivers are not installed. Plug into the Ethernet cable Look for additional drivers, and activate it.
    If that don't work open terminal and type "sudo apt-get update" (With out the "quotes")

    (Note: if the additional drivers is there but fails, use the above command and try additional drivers again)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    It seems both fail with the sudo apt-get update I only get a load of webpages and this

    W: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
    I have installed knoppix and I still have windows.Also it says I'm connected but every time I try to load a webpage it just doesn't load.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    22
    I had a lot of trouble getting my proper Graphic drivers while using Live CD.

    You could also try running a Live USB and see if that helps.

    BTW its a lot faster.

    ------------------
    Not sure if it has it but try going to Ubuntu's site and go as if you were downloading Ubuntu

    look at step two LiveCD or USB select USB and see if it will support that distro.

    It has others then just Ubuntu...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Actually forgot to add that I installed it knoppix on a partition.Anyway it says it's it's connected but when I try to visit a website it doesn't load.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    22
    Did you enable any firewalls?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Nope haven't enabled any firewalls

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •