Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
i want to check out linux, but i can only get my ubuntu disc to load on my HP laptop. but it says i am missing firmware so i cannot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9

    no wireless with my HP laptop


    i want to check out linux, but i can only get my ubuntu disc to load on my HP laptop. but it says i am missing firmware so i cannot get online. how do i go about fixing this?

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Check this thread and post your results please.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Have you tried booting using the live CD and then connecting to the internet with cable?

    Then you can follow the link given by MikeTbob. The outputs will give us a bird's eye view of what's happening in your system and might be able to make your wireless work in no time
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9
    i have not but i will try that..might be the best way...thanks.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9
    i just want my wireless cuz my gateway is downstairs n im usually upstairs haha. but from what i've found out this particular model is sketchy with wireless using linux.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by n00ber View Post
    i just want my wireless cuz my gateway is downstairs n im usually upstairs haha. but from what i've found out this particular model is sketchy with wireless using linux.
    Well I hope we can help you make your wireless work soonest then!

    It's no joke running up and down the stairs every time you need to connect. Let's see those outputs
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •