Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, Hoping someone will help me. I have used a few versions of Ubuntu and never had a problem before I tried "Natty". I have very little knowledge of how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

no wireless/no internet Ubuntu 11.04

Hi,

Hoping someone will help me. I have used a few versions of Ubuntu and never had a problem before I tried "Natty". I have very little knowledge of how to use command line other than what I can copy/paste so please bear with me, ok?

I upgraded to 11.04 and it never booted right again, resorted to starting with a fresh HDD. Installed on the new drive and all went well this time with the exception of the wireless kept losing the connection. (had never been an issue with previous installs of any kind).
    So I went to the forums and found many people saying how network manager was often dropping connections and that Wicd worked much better. Also repeatedly read that it didn't work right until the NM was uninstalled. So I tried it. Wicd installed but never connected and I kept getting "d-bus" error. Tried to read on how to fix it but the solutions were either way over my head or involved software I didn't have. So currently I have no internet b/c I have no wired connection (I live w/ family and can't run a wired connection) But I have access to another computer and a pendrive so I then tried to install wifi radar hoping that would at least get me online. I seem to keep running into errors. My system is a custom built desktop w/ an Asus mobo. I'll attach a copy of what I learned on how to get the specifics of my hardware, it but it's loooong. Sorry! I also copied the errors I got trying to install both wicd and wifi radar in hopes that someone can get me online without having to reintall my os all over again. Anyone please?

Thanks in advance!

Kris