Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 51
Like Tree1Likes
Okay, just to make sure we don't miss anything, re-post the output of: Code: lsmod ifconfig -a...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Okay, just to make sure we don't miss anything, re-post the output of:
    Code:
    lsmod
    ifconfig -a
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #32
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    22
    lsmod

    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    rfcomm                 38408  0 
    bnep                   17923  2 
    bluetooth             148839  10 rfcomm,bnep
    binfmt_misc            17292  1 
    rt3562sta             873886  0 
    snd_emu10k1_synth      12963  0 
    snd_emux_synth         33455  1 snd_emu10k1_synth
    snd_seq_virmidi        13309  1 snd_emux_synth
    snd_seq_midi_emul      13526  1 snd_emux_synth
    ppdev                  12849  0 
    snd_emu10k1           133258  3 snd_emu10k1_synth
    snd_ac97_codec        106082  1 snd_emu10k1
    ac97_bus               12642  1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm                80468  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec
    dcdbas                 14098  0 
    snd_page_alloc         14115  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
    snd_util_mem           13786  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
    snd_hwdep              13276  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
    snd_seq_midi           13132  0 
    snd_rawmidi            25241  3 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1,snd_seq_midi
    arc4                   12473  2 
    snd_seq_midi_event     14475  2 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi
    nouveau               663211  3 
    snd_seq                51567  5 snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_emul,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    rt2800pci              18340  0 
    rt2800lib              48717  1 rt2800pci
    crc_ccitt              12595  1 rt2800lib
    rt2x00pci              14202  1 rt2800pci
    rt2x00lib              48114  3 rt2800pci,rt2800lib,rt2x00pci
    psmouse                73673  0 
    mac80211              272785  3 rt2800lib,rt2x00pci,rt2x00lib
    snd_timer              28932  3 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm,snd_seq
    ttm                    65224  1 nouveau
    drm_kms_helper         32889  1 nouveau
    serio_raw              12990  0 
    snd_seq_device         14172  5 snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emu10k1,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    drm                   192226  5 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    snd                    55902  14 snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_hwdep,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    cfg80211              172392  2 rt2x00lib,mac80211
    i2c_algo_bit           13199  1 nouveau
    mxm_wmi                12859  1 nouveau
    emu10k1_gp             12570  0 
    parport_pc             32114  1 
    wmi                    18744  1 mxm_wmi
    gameport               15060  2 emu10k1_gp
    eeprom_93cx6           12653  1 rt2800pci
    video                  18908  1 nouveau
    soundcore              12600  1 snd
    intel_rng              12700  0 
    shpchp                 32356  0 
    lp                     17455  0 
    parport                40930  3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
    floppy                 60310  0
    ifconfig -a

    Code:
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:2976 (2.9 KB)  TX bytes:2976 (2.9 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:06:4f:99:c8:c6  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  3. #33
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well looky there, it's been renamed to wlan0 like it should be. Try these again.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    Code:
    sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #34
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    If you're still having trouble, trouble getting a connection after that, it may be because both wireless drivers are loading.
    We may need to blacklist the 'bad' one... So, open a terminal:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    It should open a file. Add the following lines to the bottom:
    Code:
    blacklist rt2800pci
    blacklist rt2800lib
    Reboot, and try again.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #35
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    22
    I ran the first two commands and received:

    Code:
    xx:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    xx:~$ sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     no scan results
    So I black-listed the drivers as directed, reboot, and re-ran the above commands:

    Code:
    xx:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    xx:~$ sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.
    Is this because I don't have the right driver installed yet?

    I also re-ran the following in case we need them:

    lsmod
    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    nls_utf8               12493  1 
    isofs                  39549  1 
    bnep                   17923  2 
    rfcomm                 38408  0 
    bluetooth             148839  10 bnep,rfcomm
    binfmt_misc            17292  1 
    ppdev                  12849  0 
    snd_emu10k1_synth      12963  0 
    snd_emux_synth         33455  1 snd_emu10k1_synth
    snd_seq_virmidi        13309  1 snd_emux_synth
    snd_seq_midi_emul      13526  1 snd_emux_synth
    dcdbas                 14098  0 
    snd_emu10k1           133258  3 snd_emu10k1_synth
    snd_ac97_codec        106082  1 snd_emu10k1
    ac97_bus               12642  1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm                80468  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec
    snd_page_alloc         14115  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
    snd_util_mem           13786  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
    snd_hwdep              13276  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
    snd_seq_midi           13132  0 
    snd_rawmidi            25241  3 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1,snd_seq_midi
    nouveau               663211  3 
    rt3562sta             873886  0 
    snd_seq_midi_event     14475  2 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq                51567  5 snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_emul,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    ttm                    65224  1 nouveau
    psmouse                73673  0 
    drm_kms_helper         32889  1 nouveau
    drm                   192226  5 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    snd_timer              28932  3 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm,snd_seq
    serio_raw              12990  0 
    snd_seq_device         14172  5 snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emu10k1,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    i2c_algo_bit           13199  1 nouveau
    mxm_wmi                12859  1 nouveau
    wmi                    18744  1 mxm_wmi
    parport_pc             32114  1 
    video                  18908  1 nouveau
    snd                    55902  14 snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_hwdep,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    emu10k1_gp             12570  0 
    gameport               15060  2 emu10k1_gp
    soundcore              12600  1 snd
    intel_rng              12700  0 
    shpchp                 32356  0 
    lp                     17455  0 
    parport                40930  3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
    floppy                 60310  0
    ifconfig -a
    Code:
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:1680 (1.6 KB)  TX bytes:1680 (1.6 KB)
    
    ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:06:4f:99:c8:c6  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:19

  7. #36
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I think you are getting super close. It looks like the device has changed names again after those last commands. You do have the driver installed. So try connecting again.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig ra0 up
    Code:
    sudo iwlist ra0 scan
    If this returns a scan result then you should be able to go into network manager or WICD and set up a new wireless connection from there.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #37
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    22
    Alright, good news and bad news.

    The good news is the scan worked (I x'ed out my essid):

    Code:
    sudo iwlist ra0 scan
    
    ra0       Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 50:67:F0:EF:72:6C
                        Protocol:802.11b/g
                        ESSID:"xxx"
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.427 GHz (Channel 4)
                        Quality:13/100  Signal level:-85 dBm  Noise level:-80 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: Unknown: DD0E0050F204104A0001101044000102
              Cell 02 - Address: 1C:AF:F7:DD:55:DB
                        Protocol:802.11b/g/n
                        ESSID:"dlink"
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:13/100  Signal level:-85 dBm  Noise level:-86 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: Unknown: DD260050F204104A0001101044000102104900140024E26002000101600000020001600100020001
              Cell 03 - Address: 30:46:9A:3F:EC:A6
                        Protocol:802.11b/g/n
                        ESSID:"FAMILY-Wireless"
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:18/100  Signal level:-83 dBm  Noise level:-84 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:144 Mb/s
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: Unknown: DD0E0050F204104A0001101044000102
              Cell 04 - Address: 00:1C:10:22:60:86
                        Protocol:802.11b/g
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:18/100  Signal level:-83 dBm  Noise level:-84 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
              Cell 05 - Address: 00:1F:B3:9B:B5:79
                        Protocol:802.11b/g
                        ESSID:"2WIRE361"
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.457 GHz (Channel 10)
                        Quality:2/100  Signal level:-89 dBm  Noise level:-84 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
    The bad news is I was not able to connect to a network.

    First, "network settings" only shows the "wired" connections tab. The "wireless" tab is gone now.

    In "network connections" there is a wireless tab where I can create a new network. I did this but, could not find anyway to connect to it.

    So close!

  9. #38
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Have you tried to connect via the CLI?
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig ra0 essid <your_ESSID>
    sudo iwconfig ra0 key <your_key>
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #39
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    22
    I did:

    sudo ifconfig ra0 up
    sudo iwlist ra0 scan
    sudo iwconfig ra0 essid <my_ESSID>
    sudo iwconfig ra0 key <my_key>

    which brought me to a command prompt.

    I don't know any commands to use, so I started up Firefox but it could not connect.

    I also tried:

    sudo dhclient ra0

    which I found in a tutorial, to get an ip address. But firefox still could not connect.

    Are there some other commands I need?

  11. #40
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Since the adapter name has changed along with the drivers, try this one again:
    Code:
    sudo rfkill list all
    If anything is labeled with a yes, do:
    Code:
    sudo rfkill unblock all
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •