Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I know there are many posts about this but they simply aren't simple enough for me...I wonder if anyone could help as i've had this laptop now for 2-3 years ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Question So confussed with 3's huawei e169G dongle on aprire one...PLEASE HELP!


    I know there are many posts about this but they simply aren't simple enough for me...I wonder if anyone could help as i've had this laptop now for 2-3 years and not been able to do anything on it. Its not got normal windows set up, its just got whatever was pre-intalled .
    On the up side....I can follow instructions if it literally tells me which button to press and/or what to enter where.

    Thank you massivelyto anyone who has patience....

    Steph (Primary teacher)

    P.s Apologies if this is not the place to post such a silly question.

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hi, Steph! Welcome to LinuxForums!

    This might be an equally silly question in return, but when you say that it's a normal Windows setup... do you mean Windows XP/Vista?
    If so, I can find some info on where to locate a reputable Windows support board.
    If you're running Linux, however, then you're in the right place!
    Could you post the exact make and model number of the computer? Perhaps we can find out what system comes pre-installed on it, and get you going in the right direction.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Thanks for repying...

    Hiya Jayd512, thanks so much for replying... its not got a windows operating system its something else, the laptop itself is a 'acer, aspire one series'.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Do you happen to know the model number? Perhaps it's on a label on the computer somewhere.
    If not, we can try a few other things to find out.
    I'm assuming that the system is usable, and that you are booted into it.
    If so, open a terminal window... this is similar to a Windows Command Prompt. Should be located in either a System menu or Applications menu.
    When you have that open, use the following commands, one at a time, and post back the results.
    Code:
    cat /etc/*release
    Code:
    uname -a
    Just copy and paste them, and then copy paste the results back here.

    We're probably dealing with either Ubuntu or Linpus Lite, if either of those ring a bell.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    The model number is in chinese :s and at the end says ZG5. Does that help at all because stupidly I left work without my charger and it won't turn on.

    Steph

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    That does help.
    Looks like we'll be dealing with Linpus Lite... I'm not sure what version, exactly... but the commands I gave in my above post will help with that.
    Once you can power on the computer, we can figure out how to get wireless going for you.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Ok, brill, I'll try to do that terminal thing and post the results back tomorrow....and Limpus does ring a bell come to think of it.

    Thanks again

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Hiya, I couldn't find where to put those commands but I've had a little look around and found a system summery, it goes as follows:
    Model name: Aspire One
    Operating system: Limpus Lite v1.0.9.E
    CPU: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270. @1.60GH
    System memory: 512MB
    Hard drive: 8GB
    Battery: Li-ion 0 mAh
    BIOS version: v0.3109

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Oooo, just found how to do it.
    When I put in: uname -a I got:
    Linux localhost 2.6.23.9lw #105 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jun 27 18:56:59 EDT 2008 i6

    And when I put in: cat/ etc/*release I got:
    Fedora release 8 (Werewolf)
    Limpus Linux Lite v.1.0.9.E
    Fedora release 8 (Werewolf)
    Fedora release 8 (Werewolf)


  11. #10
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Unfortunately, that version of Linpus is based on a very old version of Fedora, so getting things to work properly will be real chore.
    My advice would be to upgrade to a newer version of Linux.
    If you happen to have a USB flash drive, this can easily be done.
    Take a look here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...n/FromUSBStick

    Reaad through that page. If you have any questions about it, post them here.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •