Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay im going to start off with a little info about myself. I am a pretty experienced user inside the windows environment but im attending college for computer forensics. Now ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Belkin F9L1101v1 and aricrack HELP??!?

Okay im going to start off with a little info about myself. I am a pretty experienced user inside the windows environment but im attending college for computer forensics. Now onto my problem. I am extremely new to Linux and have installed backtrack 5 in order to have something I can learn more about my major on. It installed and runs pretty smoothly except i cannot get my wireless card to configure for aircrack specifically monitor and inject modes. I bought a Belkin F9L1101v1 and just to clarify after countless hours on Google and reading through forums I decided to open up the wireless card and look at the chip set myself and it is a RTK8188SU, and to the best of my knowledge it should support both monitor and injection, but even though it is installed and running i cannot get any commands in aircrack to work and after hours and hours of searching I am left stumped.....any help or pointers in the right direction are very much appreciated by a military man and his self development. thank you

Just Joined!
    any help? anything?

Hello and Welcome.
    I have not used aircrack yet so any help I can offer will just be guesses.
    Do you need or have you tried running it with su - or sudo?
    Have you check the output of dmesg?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!