Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 98
Like Tree1Likes
Originally Posted by amanda099 Robert, If I disable wireless, I have no network connection at all. I will be building a Debian Web Server after configuring a static IP. Can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672

    Quote Originally Posted by amanda099 View Post
    Robert,
    If I disable wireless, I have no network connection at all.
    I will be building a Debian Web Server after configuring a static IP.
    Can I just use this available wlan0 provided by the current wireless connection which takes the IP of my windows 7. Or I need to configure a separate static IP for Debian.
    My question might seem amateur but I'm learning by doing ..

    Amanda
    Rule of thumb is never use wireless for a server. The connection to the server can be broken easily with a wireless phone or microwave. I would disable wireless and go wired all the way but the choice is yours.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    Rule of thumb is never use wireless for a server. The connection to the server can be broken easily with a wireless phone or microwave. I would disable wireless and go wired all the way but the choice is yours.
    I choose stable solutions, Robert !
    Does going wired mean that I just connect Debian to my Router using a cable ? or is there good tutorial you would like to recommend ?

    Amanda

  3. #23
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Not to horn in on Lazydog's great advice here...
    But, yeah. By wired connection, simply connect to your router with an Ethernet cable.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thank You Jay,
    I think I need to buy a new ethernet cable that is longer than the one I have her. There's only one kind of such cable, right ?
    Amanda

  5. #25
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by amanda099 View Post
    I think I need to buy a new ethernet cable that is longer than the one I have her. There's only one kind of such cable, right ?
    Amanda
    There are two types that you might run into.
    • Cat-5
    • Cat-6


    If you have a modem and router that were made in the last 4 or 5 years, then either one should work.
    Look for cable rated for 100-base, or 100Mb data rate.
    And you can get them in several lengths, so measure the distance to wire it, and make it look presentable. Add a little to allow for slack.
    Here are some common prices. Link
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    There are two types that you might run into.
    • Cat-5
    • Cat-6


    If you have a modem and router that were made in the last 4 or 5 years, then either one should work.
    Look for cable rated for 100-base, or 100Mb data rate.
    And you can get them in several lengths, so measure the distance to wire it, and make it look presentable. Add a little to allow for slack.
    Here are some common prices. Link
    Jay,
    Thanks for getting the technical data I require for the cable purchase.
    That information will certainly insure I make no mistake with the purchase.
    I have a Netgear router (Wireless Cable Voice Gateway CVG824G), I believe that it's rather a new one. But how can I know when exactly it was made ?

    Amanda

  7. #27
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I just looked at that router online.
    It has the same types of connections that I mentioned.
    And it has the same connections that mine has... so if you need to, write down the types of cable that I advised.
    You should be able to find them at any Best Buy or Wal-Mart.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #28
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,672
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Not to horn in on Lazydog's great advice here...
    Horn away my friend.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    55
    Network Cable or Ethernet Cable ? Interchangable ? Store clerk said they are equals . Yes ?
    Amanda

  10. #30
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Most likely the same thing. So long as the end of it looks like an over-sized phone cord, you should be good to go.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •