Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello all, I am using the TS7500 board from embeddedarm with the Debian OS on an SD card. I have also successfully installed the WIFI-N-USB wireless module. It works perfect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Connecting an AP through a USB to Wifi device


    Hello all,

    I am using the TS7500 board from embeddedarm with the Debian OS on an SD card. I have also successfully installed the WIFI-N-USB wireless module. It works perfect since I am able to list the available networks using the command
    Code:
    iwlist scan
    So then I follow the instructions given here: wiki.embeddedarm.com/wiki/WIFI-N-USB to connect a WEP encrypted network:
    Code:
    ifconfig ra0 up
    iwconfig ra0 essid "my_essid" key "my_password"
    ifconfig ra0 192.168.1.101
    However, I cannot ping my AP (192.168.1.1) (and a computer on the same network cannot ping my board). I also tried to disable the eth0 as suggested in the above mentioned website.

    Here is the network configuration on the board

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:d0:69:45:54:d4
              inet addr:192.168.1.50  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:63 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:4299 (4.1 KiB)
              Base address:0x2000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:8740 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:8740 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:36444348 (34.7 MiB)  TX bytes:36444348 (34.7 MiB)
    
    ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f4:6d:04:b2:01:55
              inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:1048320 (1023.7 KiB)  TX bytes:64496 (62.9 KiB)
    
    usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 7e:72:f2:0e:20:ee
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    And the content of my /etc/network/interfaces file:

    Code:
    ts7500:/# cat /etc/network/interfaces 
    # Used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8). See the interfaces(5) manpage or
    # /usr/share/doc/ifupdown/examples for more information.
     
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
     
    auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.1.50
            network 192.168.1.0
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            broadcast 192.168.1.255
            gateway 192.168.1.1
     
    #auto eth1
    #iface eth1 inet dhcp
    Can you see something wrong or to try ?

    Note 1: and also, if I try a dhclient, I got "no offers"... But I would like to work with a static IP
    Note 2: The system was working when connected through an ethernet cable to the AP

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,665
    I have a PC104 board from Embeddedarm as well - works great! However, I don't have the WiFi module (wired ethernet only), though I have had really good experiences with their tech support engineering people in getting issues resolved. Try sending them an email about your problem.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Hello again,

    Finally, with a lot of researches and patience, I have found the problem and a solution.
    The problem was that the iwconfig does not apply my changes as I requested. e.g. when I did the essid iwconfg command, essid was not actually set.

    In some websites I have found that I should try to set the ra0 down and change the configuration. This was not possible on my board since the iwconfig command does not allow changes when the ra0 is down.

    So finally here is the solution I have found: change the /etc/network/interfaces file as follows and then reboot:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
     
    auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.1.50
            network 192.168.1.0
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            broadcast 192.168.1.255
            gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    auto ra0
    iface ra0 inet static
    	address 192.168.1.14
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	broadcast 192.168.1.255
    	gateway 192.168.1.1
    	up \
    	/sbin/iwconfig ra0 mode managed && \
    	/sbin/iwconfig ra0 enc restricted && \
    	/sbin/iwconfig ra0 key MY_NETWORK_PWD && \
    	/sbin/iwconfig ra0 essid MY_NETWORK
     
    #auto eth1
    #iface eth1 inet dhcp
    Hope it can help!

    Bye

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,665
    Glad you sorted this out. With embedded systems, there is often no other solution than trial and error, research, and more trial and error...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •