Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, Ive been trying to coneect wirelessly on my laptop for a few days but Im just unable to do it. Im completely new to Linux and Im not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Please help, Im desperate

Hi everyone,
    Ive been trying to coneect wirelessly on my laptop for a few days but Im just unable to do it. Im completely new to Linux and Im not a computer expert. Thats why I kindly ask you to help me solve this problem and answer in such a way I can understand. Thanks.
    So, as soon as i reastart my laptop with a Linux cd in, the little light indicating wireless connection disappears and i cant see any wireless networks. It says it need windows drivers in order to work. Now, ive read like a thousand manuals on how to fix this but im sooooooo confused! Each one of them is completely different and i have absolutely no idea what should I do. Should i find out what my chipset is? Install some program? Get the inf file from my computer or download the driver from the internet? Should i write those incredibly complicated command lines? Please, just suggest the order of things i should do to be able to connect. Im really lost in the tons of various manuals and suggestions and cant decide what i need to do. You dont have to explain things in detail (i would be very grateful, though), i just need a step-by step guide of things that need to be done and i can find more detailed manuals for that on google. Now, ive got like milion manuals, i just dont know which one to use
    Ive got Windows 7 on Asus K55V (a new laptop) and the linux distribution on CD is a version of Ubuntu in my language, the version is called Greenie. When i have windows on that computer, it works normally, so i guess the internet signal is fine.
    Thank you so much for your reply!