Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
I tried "virginmedia09640942" and it didn't work. My PC didn't come with a wireless card, the first one I bought was rubbish and this is a replacement. I won't give ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35

    I tried "virginmedia09640942" and it didn't work.
    My PC didn't come with a wireless card, the first one I bought was rubbish and this is a replacement.

    I won't give if people keep helping me.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Thanks for the help.
    I tried the instructions
    Code:

    iwlist wlan0 scan

    gives amongst others

    Code:

    "Cell 01 - Address: 10:0D:7F:C4:3A:4D
    ESSID:"virginmedia0964094"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11bgn
    Mode:Master
    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
    12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    Extra:rsn_ie=30140100000fac040100000fac040100000fa c020c00
    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
    Group Cipher : CCMP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    IE: Unknown: DD7E0050F204104A0001101044000102103B00010310470010 6C4C04A9C27D3AE89583FAAF26ED9837102100074E65746765 6172102300074E657467656172102400063132333435361042 0007303030303030311054000800060050F204000110110007 564D4447343835100800022008103C0001011049000600372A 000120
    Signal level=44/100
    But then...............
    I tried

    Code:
        sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid virginmedia0964094
    
        afterwards I get
        Code:
    
        sudo iwconfig
        lo        no wireless extensions.
    
        wlan1     unassociated  Nickname:"rtl_wifi"
                  Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Sensitivity:0/0  
                  Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
                  Encryption key:off
                  Power Management:off
                  Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
                  Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
                  Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    and
    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -Dnl80211 -iwlan1 -c wpa.conf
        nl80211: 'nl80211' generic netlink not found
        Failed to initialize driver interface
    Any ideas?
    Use wlan0 if that is your device!

    also you could try wpa_supplicant -Dwext

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Wakou View Post
    Thanks for the help.
    I tried the instructions






    Use wlan0 if that is your device!

    also you could try wpa_supplicant -Dwext
    Oops sorry that was a mistake. I meant to type wlan1
    and that IS my device.

    wpa_supplicant gives Association request to the driver failed
    Last edited by davholla; 09-15-2013 at 07:15 PM.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Hi davholla! I bet you wish you had found a more expert advisor!

    After much head-scratching, teeth-gnashing and hair-loss here, I have got mine working properly.

    So let us try some more.


    If you can get to the stage you were before, where you can do:
    Code:
    ~> iwlist wlan0 scan

    to make things nicer to work with then do:

    Code:
    ~> iwlist wlan0 scan |grep -A 25 -B6 nameofyourhub
    
    (This is so it shows only your 'hub' or router, the one that you wanted to connect to, from your other posts, virginmedia0964094, grep -A 25 -B6 shows 25 lines after and 6 lines before where it finds the line with the name of your router)

    then do this:

    Code:
    ~> wpa_passphrase nameofyourhub yourpassphrase
    This will take a little while, and generate a long number.

    Then open your wpa.conf with your editor; this is mine, anonymised to protect the guilty:


    network={
    ssid="nameofyourhub" # specify ssid/name here
    #bssid=99:23..... # optional, you can specify bssid here (mac address of your router)
    proto=WPA2
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP
    psk=longnumbergeneratedbythecommandabove # specify hex psk here
    }

    And save it.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Now we have the small problem of the driver. Now this is different on Ubuntu than on mine. But, first try this:

    Code:
    ~> wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -Dwext -c /pathtowhere/youhave/saved/wpawhatyoucalled.conf
    And report back the results.

    Good luck!

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    I got some help from here:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wi...tyOfMaastricht

    Aimed at students of U Maastricht, but useful info in there for everyone.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Wakou View Post
    Hi davholla! I bet you wish you had found a more expert advisor!

    After much head-scratching, teeth-gnashing and hair-loss here, I have got mine working properly.

    So let us try some more.


    If you can get to the stage you were before, where you can do:
    Code:
    ~> iwlist wlan0 scan

    to make things nicer to work with then do:

    Code:
    ~> iwlist wlan0 scan |grep -A 25 -B6 nameofyourhub
    
    (This is so it shows only your 'hub' or router, the one that you wanted to connect to, from your other posts, virginmedia0964094, grep -A 25 -B6 shows 25 lines after and 6 lines before where it finds the line with the name of your router)

    then do this:

    Code:
    ~> wpa_passphrase nameofyourhub yourpassphrase
    This will take a little while, and generate a long number.

    Then open your wpa.conf with your editor; this is mine, anonymised to protect the guilty:


    network={
    ssid="nameofyourhub" # specify ssid/name here
    #bssid=99:23..... # optional, you can specify bssid here (mac address of your router)
    proto=WPA2
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP
    psk=longnumbergeneratedbythecommandabove # specify hex psk here
    }

    And save it.
    I wish I hadn't screwed up my PC. Thanks for your help.

    After following all your advice I get


    Association request to the driver failed

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    You haven't screwed up anything!

    Tell us here what Ubuntu you are using and we can look in to getting network manager working to do all this for you....
    ie version etc etc.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    It is Mint 13 Maya KDE version.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •