Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
By accident I uninstalled network manager from my linux mint (13 maya). I did try using some ubuntu packages (possibly a mistake) to reinstall it. How can I reconnect to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35

    Uninstalled network manager can I connect to wireless internet without


    By accident I uninstalled network manager from my linux mint (13 maya).
    I did try using some ubuntu packages (possibly a mistake) to reinstall it.
    How can I reconnect to the wireless without network manager?

    I can't find my DVD

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    I think run wpa_supplicant from the command line.
    These instructions may be of help --
    Damn it won't let me post an URL. I'll try and get around it somehow:
    Reconstruct
    aitchttpcolonslash/linux.icydog.net/wpa.php
    to a valid URL

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Hi davholla. It is certainly possible to use WiFi without a NM. You only have to imagine the millions of linux machines which run from the command line only. I am not a Ubuntu user, and I am sure some will be along soon to help you with reinstall your NM.

    Meanwhile, I suggest you have a read on the commands beginning with iw and if. If you are not used to terminal CLI working, just open a terminal and type in sudo iw and hit tab... It should give a list of iw commands available. You can do the same with if.
    The ones of interest here are iwconfig, iwlist and ifconfig.




    If you use WPA you will also need a package called wireless-tools, specifically a tool inside that package called wpasupplicant.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by muzhmuzh View Post
    I think run wpa_supplicant from the command line.
    These instructions may be of help --
    Damn it won't let me post an URL. I'll try and get around it somehow:
    Reconstruct
    aitchttpcolonslash/linux.icydog.net/wpa.php
    to a valid URL
    Thanks that looks good I will try it tonight or this weekend (child care responsibilities allowing)

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Just a warning, davholla, if you are not used to working from the command-line, it can get a bit complicated. Don't let that deter you, it is a great 'project' to learn how to do things from a terminal, which are handy skills to have!

    If you just want your wireless back, it would be easier and quicker to work on getting the network manager back, I am sure that folks here, or in one of the many Ubuntu forums will be able to help you without any trouble.

    If you do decide to use the CLI terminal, keep in touch here, and ask away if you need further help

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by muzhmuzh View Post
    I think run wpa_supplicant from the command line.
    These instructions may be of help --
    Damn it won't let me post an URL. I'll try and get around it somehow:
    Reconstruct
    aitchttpcolonslash/linux.icydog.net/wpa.php
    to a valid URL
    I tried the following
    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -Dnl80211 -iwlan1 -c/home/david/wpa.conf
    But I got
    Code:
    nl80211: 'nl80211' generic netlink not found
    Failed to initialize driver interface
    I also tried
    Code:
    sudo iwlist scan
    
    wlan1 Interface doesn't support scanning:  Network is down
    I also
    Code:
    dhclient -r
    
    
    dhclient wlan1
    RTNETLINK answers: Operation not permitted
    Any ideas?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    try 'sudo iwconfig' in order to find your network device. I suspect it might be wlan0 or something similar.
    Then 'sudo ifconfig xxxxx up' where xxxxx is the network device that iwconfig showed you.
    Then carry on as shown on the site.
    dhclient should be run as root, so 'sudo dhclient'.
    It is ages since I tried anything like this, so no guarantees

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Hi davholla, I am not an expert, and neither am I a Ubuntu user, but when I saw your post the other day, I thought I would try to put myself in your position and see if I could get myself online using CLI only. I only got half-way before I had to go and do something else. Also, I don't know anything about your level of expertise, so excuse me if the tone sounds patronising....
    This is where I got to....


    Quote Originally Posted by Me, the other day
    Now to begin; the command we want to try first is iwconfig. (In ubuntu you might have to put sudo in front of all the commands so; sudo iwconfig

    You should get some info like this:


    Code:
    stephen 08:26:~> 
    sudo /usr/sbin/iwconfig 
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"none"  
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
    Then you can do a scan. Take the id of your device.. in the above example wlan0

    sudo iwlist wlan0 scan:

    if you get this.......

    Code:
    linux-7uwd:~ # iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down
    Right, that does not look very promising.. don't worry, do this:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up NOTICE that this command is ifconfig, and not iw ..

    Now do the scan again..... you will probably get a long list.. scroll through until you find the network (ESSID) you want to connect to, and note the exact name of the ESSID:

    Mine here let us say, is

    BTHub3-AA1B Now do the command:

    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid BTHub3-AA1B putting your device and you network essid in the right places.

    If you get no errors, then all is fine. Just to check , we can sudo iwconfig again:



    Code:
    iwconfig
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"BTHub3-AA1B"  
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
    If you get this far, then all we have left to do is use wpasupplicant to get our password in, and we are connected! If however you don't get this far, shout up on here and and we will go back a step and get it working...

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for the help.
    I tried the instructions
    Code:
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    gives amongst others

    Code:
    "Cell 01 - Address: 10:0D:7F:C4:3A:4D
                        ESSID:"virginmedia0964094"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11bgn
                        Mode:Master
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:rsn_ie=30140100000fac040100000fac040100000fac020c00
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : CCMP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: Unknown: DD7E0050F204104A0001101044000102103B000103104700106C4C04A9C27D3AE89583FAAF26ED9837102100074E657467656172102300074E6574676561721024000631323334353610420007303030303030311054000800060050F204000110110007564D4447343835100800022008103C0001011049000600372A000120
                        Signal level=44/100
    I tried

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid virginmedia0964094
    afterwards I get
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan1     unassociated  Nickname:"rtl_wifi"
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Sensitivity:0/0  
              Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    and this also fails

    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -Dnl80211 -iwlan1 -c wpa.conf
    nl80211: 'nl80211' generic netlink not found
    Failed to initialize driver interface
    Any ideas?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by davholla View Post
    T
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid virginmedia0964094
    afterwards I get
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan1     unassociated  Nickname:"rtl_wifi"
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Sensitivity:0/0  
              Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    Hang on!

    your command:
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan1 essid virginmedia0964094
    You have two wireless devices? If not,it should be wlan0. Also try with the network ID in "" so:

    Code:
    ~> sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "virginmedia09640942"


    Don't give up!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •