Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installing Drivers for Wireless USB Adapter, Need Help Please!

Hi! This is my first post.

I'm fairly new to the world of linux. I'm running linux on vmware fusion as a virtual machine. I recently purchased a wireless USB adapter for my computer, and I noticed linux would not recognise the USB device. So I've downloaded the necessary drivers for my USB adapter, but I'm having some trouble installing them.

In the file there is a 'README' which includes instructions, but I have found the instructions to be beyond my level of understanding. Here is what they include:

================================================== =====================
    Build Instructions:
    ====================

1> $tar -xvzf DPB_RT2870_Linux_STA_x.x.x.x.tgz
    go to "./DPB_RT2870_Linux_STA_x.x.x.x" directory.

2> In Makefile
    set the "MODE = STA" in Makefile and chose the TARGET to Linux by set "TARGET = LINUX"
    define the linux kernel source include file path LINUX_SRC
    modify to meet your need.

3> In os/linux/config.mk
    define the GCC and LD of the target machine
    define the compiler flags CFLAGS
    modify to meet your need.
    ** Build for being controlled by NetworkManager or wpa_supplicant wext functions
    Please set 'HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y' and 'HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y'.
    => #>cd wpa_supplicant-x.x
    => #>./wpa_supplicant -Dwext -ira0 -c wpa_supplicant.conf -d
    ** Build for being controlled by WpaSupplicant with Ralink Driver
    Please set 'HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y' and 'HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=n'.
    => #>cd wpa_supplicant-0.5.7
    => #>./wpa_supplicant -Dralink -ira0 -c wpa_supplicant.conf -d

4> $make
    # compile driver source code
    # To fix "error: too few arguments to function °•iwe_stream_add_event"
    => $patch -i os/linux/sta_ioctl.c.patch os/linux/sta_ioctl.c