Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Netgear WNA3100 Network Adapter loses Internet connection randomly

Hello, I am looking to get Linux Mint 17.3 Cinnamon 64-bit running on my computer but am having difficulty getting a stable internet connection with my Netgear N300 (WNA3100) network adapter. This is my first time ever dealing with linux so I am still getting used to its many nuances. I am currently using Windows 7 and am running Linux through a live session from a bootable USB drive. I've spent a good amount of time searching for solutions but have not been able to solve the issue.

To sum up the issue, I am able to get internet to work, but after a period of time that can range from 1 to maybe 20 minutes I suddenly lose connection and the internet is no longer responsive, although my network at the bottom right of the screen still says I have connection. Although if I unplug my network adapter and plug it back in I get working internet again temporarily until it quits working again. I would like to be able to confirm that internet works for me before I commit to a Linux install.

To get internet working I follow these steps.

I extract "2612284-Broadcom_bcm43xx_USB_32_64bit_v2.tar.gz" folder into my Downloads folder
    then I put this code in the terminal...
    ----
    sudo ndiswrapper -i ~/Downloads/Broadcom_bcm43xx_USB_32_64bit_v2/bcmn43xx64.inf
    ----
    to which it responds...

couldn't find SourceDisksFiles section - continuing anyway...
    installing bcmn43xx64 ...
    couldn't find install section "BCM43XXN32" -
    installation may be incomplete

Then I input this code...
    ----
    sudo modprobe -v ndiswrapper
    sudo ndiswrapper -ma
    dmesg | grep ndis
    lsmod
    iwconfig
    ndiswrapper -l
    ----