Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I've been trying for days to get wifi to work on Fedora Core 5. I'm not getting anywhere -- I can't even build the driver! I'm a newbie so this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question (newbie) can't build RT2500 wifi driver on Fedora Core 5 :(

I've been trying for days to get wifi to work on Fedora Core 5. I'm not getting anywhere -- I can't even build the driver!

I'm a newbie so this is really hard work. I've been unable to follow any 'how-to' so far as literally everything seems to bring up an error.

I need WPA so I hope I'm not wasting my time...!

* I have a fresh, standard install of Fedora Core 5 (kernel 2.6.15.1 build 2054)
    * I believe my wifi card has an RT2500 chipset. It's an Edimax 7128g card.
    * lspci lists the following wifi device:
    05:09.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    * I've downloaded a rt2x00 driver (rt2500-1.1.0-b4) from serialmonkey.com to /usr/src/.
    * I've downloaded the linux-2.6.15.1 kernel sources to /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES/.
    * I've made the symbolic links 'build' and 'source' (in /lib/modules/2.6.15-1.2054_FC5/) point at the kernel sources (/usr/src/redhat/SOURCES/linux-2.6.15.1). Formerly they were broken links. I don't know whether I've done this correctly though.
    * I believe this has had some effect, because formerly, running make from the wifi driver folder failed straight away saying it couldn't find the kernel sources; now I get different build errors.
    * There are literally hundreds of errors:

Code:
    [root@localhost Module]# make
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/redhat/SOURCES/linux-2.6.15.1'
    Makefile:486: .config: No such file or directory

WARNING: Symbol version dump /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES/linux-2.6.15.1/Module.symvers
               is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.