Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am a newbie to linux. I just got Suse 10.1 to dual boot with XP on my Compaq v2205us laptop. I love suse and I'm really excited to learn ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cool Ndiswrapper, SuSE and a Newbie - Help!

I am a newbie to linux. I just got Suse 10.1 to dual boot with XP on my Compaq v2205us laptop. I love suse and I'm really excited to learn what linux is about. So I guess my wlan device BCM4306 is not supported natively in Suse 10.1. So I am trying to install and configure ndiswrapper.

First question: Where can I get the windows driver? My first thought is to get it off my windows install. Does anyone know where the drivers are kept?

I have installed ndiswrapper from the distro cd. I then tried the following command in terminal (home directory I think):

ndiswrapper

result (command not found)

So I thought maybe I need to be in the directory where ndiswrapper was installed. So I searched for files or folders called ndiswrapper. I found the following three directories:

/etc/ndiswrapper/ empty folder

/usr/sbin/ perl program

/usr/share/doc/packages/ndiswrapper/ folder containing readme files.

So it tried a few commands in each of those directories

ndiswrapper

(command not found) same result as before

So I am totally lost. Do I need to be logged in as root? How do I do that in the terminal anyway?

Thanks for your help in advance. I really appreciate it.

kbk