Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I have an atheros wifi card which is supported by Madwifi. I downloaded, installed and yast was detecting. When I went on wifi manager it automatically detected my Belkin54g network. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Atheros Wifi Card, SuSE


    I have an atheros wifi card which is supported by Madwifi. I downloaded, installed and yast was detecting. When I went on wifi manager it automatically detected my Belkin54g network. When I connected, at 28% it asked for my WEP key. I entered it and it said connected but it wasn't.

    Next time it found my network again, but it didn't ask for my wep key. It then didn't connect, although it said it did.

    It doesn't return an IP, but it picks up my frequency.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    40
    Did you check your IP settings ???

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125
    Yes- and it connected to my neighbours wifi fine. It says signal strength is 53 for my own wifi network but still nothing.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    40

    ping

    can you ping your acces point

    Code:
    ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    from your konsole

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125
    no, it tells me "the access point is not reachable."

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    40

    MAC filters

    Any chance you have MAC filters set on your router, and you did not set the MAC address of your WIFI. ??? ALso check the channels if they talking on same one.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125
    I got it to find my IP! But mozilla and everything else still don't work . It only finds the IP 1/5 times though. Mac address configuration is all fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by majo
    ALso check the channels if they talking on same one.
    What do you mean?

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125
    I tried a different wifi card- it also finds my belkin54g network but at a signal strength of 10.

    Also, I got it to go up to 57% (configuring IP) with my old cad but then it stops and says "connected" (although it isn't).

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    40

    channels

    each card and access point have their own channels where they talking through them. I think the range is 1-12, normally they should be recognised automatically but sometimes they not, so try to check if AP and card has same channel selected.

    Code:
    I got it to find my IP! But mozilla and everything else still don't work . It only finds the IP 1/5 times though.
    what you mean by that

    can you ping that IP ??? do you have correct Gateway on WIFI ???
    and what about DNS - do you have them setup correctly or do you have them at all???

    can you send results of ifconfig:

    Code:
    type in terminal under su - ifconfig

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125
    What I mean is, when I hovered over belkin54g with my mouse on Knetworkmanager, it said my IP. I didn't get a chance to try ping.

    Gateway is correct.

    DNS is set.


    Ifconfig results:


    ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:78:71:7B:35
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:102 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3913 (3.8 Kb) TX bytes:10537 (10.2 Kb)

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:E8:F0:37
    inet addr:192.168.100.24 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fee8:f037/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4867 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:515079 (503.0 Kb)
    Interrupt:177

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:EE:E0:66
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:17658 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1746419 (1.6 Mb) TX bytes:2674 (2.6 Kb)
    Interrupt:169

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1540 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1540 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:124320 (121.4 Kb) TX bytes:124320 (121.4 Kb)

    wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-14-78-71-7B-35-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 -00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:612292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:115358
    TX packets:18310 errors:10 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
    RX bytes:50551899 (48.2 Mb) TX bytes:856053 (835.9 Kb)
    Interrupt:225 Memory:ffffc20000f60000-ffffc20000f70000



    Thanks, majo.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •