Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
my modem and broadband router are connected to a proprietary computer (Windows 9 and the USB adapter is on an HP computer (Ferora Core 5). I contacted Linksys and they ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs down wireless setup for Fedora Core 5


    my modem and broadband router are connected to a proprietary computer
    (Windows 9 and the USB adapter is on an HP computer (Ferora Core 5). I contacted Linksys and they gave me all the 'addresses' I need but were unable to help me set up the adapter saying that they are not that familiar with Fedora Linux. The CD setup wizard was rejected when I attempted to setup the adapter. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Herb Fischer.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    167
    Hit "Alt + F2" to bring up a run dialog, and type in "system-config-network". This will bring up some information about network connections / adaptors you have. Do you see wireless connection there?

    What is the make / model of your wireless adaptor?

    Keith

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    What was the address that Lynksys game you ?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Hughitt1

    the adaptor is Realtak Semiconductor- ethernet
    Last edited by hcfisch; 12-05-2006 at 07:20 PM. Reason: wrong title

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Vibrators

    Actually, Linksys gave me several addresses, for example: subnet mask, default gateway, IP address-local, IP address internet, and so on.
    I can send you the actual addresses if it would help. Thanks for your reply,
    Herb Fischer

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Hughitt 1

    I think I amy have mis-addressed the first reply.

    The network adapter is Realtek Semiconductor ethernet.

    Thanks for your reply,
    Herb Fischer

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    167
    did you try running "system-config-network"? It should bring up a list of adapators, and say either "enabled" or "disabled" next to each one. If you are able to see your connection there, trying hitting "enable", if not, what is listed there?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5

    Question hughitt1

    Keith

    I went to system-config-network and found an ethernet card "Realtek"
    but no adapters. It says Active but I am still not able to reach the internet.
    Each time I enter a URL I get a response 'server not found'.

    I have entered statically all the 'addresses' that Linksys gave me but still have the same problem.

    Any more ideas?

    Thanks,
    Herb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •