Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28
http://www.suseforums.net/index.php?showtopic=28566 Seems like if you blacklist the driver then it works fine. How come there is a blacklist for him but not for me even though we are both using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18

    http://www.suseforums.net/index.php?showtopic=28566

    Seems like if you blacklist the driver then it works fine. How come there is a blacklist for him but not for me even though we are both using SUSE?

  2. #22
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    After some googling, this may help esp the part at end about blacklisting.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    I decided to scrap the ndiswrapper idea and go with the default drivers after reading that article. Everything seems to be OK when I type iwconfig now.. However, I still cannot connect to the internet, what else do I need to do? I am still googling this so I'll let you know if I get it working.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    I am supposed to type these two commands to get it working?

    # ifconfig wlan0 up
    # dhcpcd wlan0

    When I type ifconfig wlan0 up, it seems to work ok (nothing is printed and I am returned to cmd line.) When I type dhcpcd wlan0 it hangs (does not return me to cmd line and nothing is printed.. just waits..)

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    Alright well the dhcpcd command eventually finishes after 30 seconds, but afterwards when I type..
    # iwlist eth2 scan
    eth2 Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device
    # iwconfig
    eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:my_essid Nickname "Broadcom 4318"
    Mode: Managed Freq =2.436 GHz etc....

  7. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    I am typing this post over my wirelessly connected laptop

    I configured everything through YAST and the final step that made it all work was to set eth1 (my wired interface) to "enable on wire connect". I guess it was interfering with my wireless card or firefox was trying to browse the web using the disconnected interface?

    The link you posted about using the default drivers was very easy to implement. Thanks a bunch... now I just need to re-enable encryption on my wireless network and get my laptop connected again

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    Encryption works great. Thanks again!

  9. #28
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Glad you could get everything working just right.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •