Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie with linux so bare with me. I was planning on learning everything on my own and not asking too many questions but I need ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ndiswrapper / wireless suse linux problems

Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie with linux so bare with me. I was planning on learning everything on my own and not asking too many questions but I need firefox working so I can browse tutorials

Ok, so my problem is that I cannot get my wireless NIC working. The card is called..
    - Dell BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller DHCP

I have installed ndiswrapper and I have located the correct drivers for my card through some online lookup list (b44win.inf, bcm4sbxp.sys). When I type in "ndiswrapper -l " I get..
    - b44win driver installed, hardware (14E4:4401) present (alternate driver: b44)

When I type "iwconfig" I get..
    -
    lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b/q ESSID: off/any Nickname: "laptop-suse"
    Mode: Managed Access Point: Invalid
    RTS thr:off Fragment thr: off
    Encryption key: 3030-3030-3030-etc Security Mode: open
    (rest of the options are 0 ie - link quality, signal level, etc)

sit0 no wireless extensions.

Shouldn't I get a wlan0 instead of eth1?? eth0 is my regular NIC.

Let me know anymore commands I should type for information.

Thankyou,
    Travis

Just Joined!
    Anyone have any ideas? I've retraced through several tutorials now and I don't know what I am doing wrong.

I unzip the driver, find the .inf and .sys file and place them in /usr/sbin. Then i type ndiswrapper -i b44win.inf and it installs fine. ndiswrapper -l shows that is installed fine. modprobe ndiswrapper shows no errors. iwconfig does not show a wlan0 ;(