Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have installed the wireless card with the chipset form ralink was succesfull but the probleem is when i enter this command ping 192.168.2.1 can i see that the router ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Question no internet connection with the rt61


    i have installed the wireless card with the chipset form ralink was succesfull
    but the probleem is when i enter this command ping 192.168.2.1

    can i see that the router is recieving the packect but when i open firefox it will tell me that it has no connection so i try to ping google.nl

    than i get this message network unreachlbe

    can some help me this out

  2. #2
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Did you configure your internet settings correctly e.g. your gateway, netmask and nameservers if you are using a static ip?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    i don't know how you must configure that i thought that every thing was allright my gatwe is 192.168.2.1 and when i ping it i see that it recieved my packets but i can't ping google

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    I'm not sure if this will help you, but I wrote a wireless how-to for wireless networking on VectorLinux.
    Even if you have a different distro, it should still help you somewhat.
    You scan skip directly to the part of getting connected:

    http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/in...p?topic=1282.0
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    it didn't work what you sen dto me but thanks

  6. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    What Linux distribution are you using? Are you using DhCP or static IP adresses?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    i am using red hat linux 9.0 with linux kernel 2.4

    and my router is using a dhcp server

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Smile

    i have found it to get the internet connection he didn't know what the gatway was so i filled
    in route -v add default gw 192.168.2.1 and i have my internet connection thanks
    help guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •