Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi ALL, I've been unsuccessful at obtaining wlan connectivity. Using YaST, no wlan network card is available from the Suse 10 card selection will permit a wireless connection. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Suse 10 wlan problem

Hi ALL,

I've been unsuccessful at obtaining wlan connectivity.

Using YaST, no wlan network card is available from the Suse 10 card selection will permit a wireless connection. I have an HP Pavilion, zd8000. Searching the web led me to conclude that i needed to use ndiswrapper. As a linux newbie, i knew not what i was doing, but eventually downloaded, unzipped it, and even read some of the documentation on the ndiswrapper.sourceforge website.

I believe i'm using kernel 2.6.13 -15 within the /lib/modules/ directory. Also, within the /lib/modules/2.6.13-15-smp directory is a link (/usr/src/linux/2.6.13-15-obj/i386/smp).

On a different linux forum, directions were to execute a 'make uninstall', then 'make'. I did the former until no "removing" messages appear. However, when i execute the latter (within directory /ndiswrapper-1.32) i get the following:
    make -C driver
    make[1]: Entering directroy '/ndiswrapper-1.32/driver'
    Cant find kernel build files in /lib/modules/2.6.13-15-smp/build;
    give the path to kernel build directory with
    KBUILD=<path> argument to make
    make[1]: ***[prereq_check] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory ' /ndiswrapper-1.32/driver'
    make: *** [all] Error 2

Can someone help?

signed,

clueless in San Antonio

Install the kernel sources. Also, instead of compiling from source, you can use the ndiswrapper package provided on the SUSE install media.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!

I'm ndiswrapper challenged