Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hey, I have a DWL-AG520 PCI card(atheros chipset) and im trying to get Knoppix Live Cd to recognize it. I have tried running madwifi drivers but with no success. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15

    How to get Knoppix to recognize wlan card


    Hey, I have a DWL-AG520 PCI card(atheros chipset) and im trying to get Knoppix Live Cd to recognize it. I have tried running madwifi drivers but with no success. I am a huge newbie and would appreciate some help.

  2. #2
    tpl
    tpl is offline
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Posts
    477
    suggest you try ndiswrapper, included w/ knoppix

    1. get a suitable driver

    http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/NET...iver-316.shtml

    2. ndiswrapper -i *.inf

    where *.inf is the name of the driver

    3. modprobe ndiswrapper

    something like that should work OK
    the sun is new every day (heraclitus)

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    If that doesn't do it...

    i'm not sure which version of Knoppix you're using. The way i get mine to work with Knoppix is by eding the /etc/network/interfaces file.

    What works for me is finding the "auto ath0" part and adding this below it:
    Code:
    iface ath0 inet dhcp
    Then in the command line type "ifdown -a" wait until it processes it then type "ifup -a". If you want to learn more about this stuff you could type in "man interfaces" and "man ifconfig" and "man iwconfig".

    Hope this helps.
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I also have an atheros chipset and the way I set mine up is like this, boot Knoppix, login to the desktop......open a terminal and type wlcardconfig, enter all the correct settings and exit. In the terminal make sure pump isnt already running
    type
    ps ax | grep pump
    If it is running, kill it with
    kill xxxx
    where xxxx is the PID number
    after that then type
    pump -i ath0
    You should be able to connect now.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    Every time i try to run a command for ath0 (eg "ifconfig ath0 up") I get a segmentation fault and then root shell freezes so I have to reboot. Originally I thought this occured because I didnt have the driver, but I dont think that is the problem. Can anybody give me a reason of this segmentation fault.

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Do you have a 64bit PC?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    No it is not a 64bit, its a 32bit pc. Could it be because I am running a livecd?

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I don't know, my knowledge of LiveCD's is very limited right now.
    I do know that knoppix comes with ndiswrapper and madwifi.
    Did you try wlcardconfig in a terminal?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    I was able to configure the card using wlcardconfig nad everything seemed normal. Then when I run a command such as pump i ath0 or ifconfig ath0 up, I get a segmentation fault for some reason.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15
    I did in fact run wlcardconfig and it worked noramally. The problem occurs when I try to run a command such as pump -i ath0 or ifconfig ath0 up or when I try using it with kismet

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •