Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
does ndiswrapper -l show driver installed, hardware present...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined! Metaljaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    53

    does ndiswrapper -l
    show driver installed, hardware present

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    Yep. It does.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Man...
    I kinda have the same problem can anyone help me?
    I'm running Kubuntu and I'm stuck at the part where I have to put in make install in the terminal..

    It keeps giving me this error:

    make[1]:***[install] Error 1 make[1]: Leaving directory `home/yo/Downloads/ndiswrapper-1.37/driver' make:***[install] Error 2

    Then someone told me I was supposed to use root, so I tried su
    and it gave me this:
    su:authentication failure
    sorry

    I then tried another command
    sudo apt-get install ndiswrapper-utils
    and it says
    E:Cannot access ndiswrapper-utils package....

    I have NO IDEA what to do

    SOMEONE HELP ME PLEASE!!

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by stevenadrien
    Man...
    I kinda have the same problem can anyone help me?
    I'm running Kubuntu and I'm stuck at the part where I have to put in make install in the terminal..

    It keeps giving me this error:

    make[1]:***[install] Error 1 make[1]: Leaving directory `home/yo/Downloads/ndiswrapper-1.37/driver' make:***[install] Error 2

    Then someone told me I was supposed to use root, so I tried su
    and it gave me this:
    su:authentication failure
    sorry

    I then tried another command
    sudo apt-get install ndiswrapper-utils
    and it says
    E:Cannot access ndiswrapper-utils package....

    I have NO IDEA what to do

    SOMEONE HELP ME PLEASE!!
    a: Not that similar...
    b: Sudo == SuperUser Do (i.e., it does the command as root). Use "sudo make install".
    c: If you want to "login" as root, try "sudo passwd root" to set its password, or you can do "sudo bash" to set up a terminal.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by dime
    a: Not that similar...
    b: Sudo == SuperUser Do (i.e., it does the command as root). Use "sudo make install".
    c: If you want to "login" as root, try "sudo passwd root" to set its password, or you can do "sudo bash" to set up a terminal.
    I tried sudo make install already
    It said that it didn't know the command make or something like that. I'll try the other 2.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    ok
    tHANKS ALOT!!
    Sudo bash worked...
    I managed to install ndiswrapper but I can't seem to install my driver
    The file I have is the windows driver because according to Ndiswrapper list, it says it should work fine. When I link it to the F5D7050.exe file, it gives me an error saying couldn't get manufacturer section - installation may be incomplete..any help appreciated please

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    you're not supposed to link it to the EXE.
    The exe is an extractable file I presume? Run the EXE in windowz to extract its contents, then look around in the files it extracted for a .INF file and a .SYS file.

    Now in linux 'cd' to the dir where the INF and SYS files are and (assuming ndiswrapper works) run the install command on the INF file.
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i XxXxXx.INF
    If you're using the install CD that came with your card then just copy the INF and SYS files to a dir and do the same thing.


    I hope this works, I am having problems with my ndiswrapper but noone has answered my post yet. Oh well.
    Good Luck!

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by h0meles
    you're not supposed to link it to the EXE.
    The exe is an extractable file I presume? Run the EXE in windowz to extract its contents, then look around in the files it extracted for a .INF file and a .SYS file.
    Actually, I recommend using "cabextract".

    By the way could we please get back on topic (MY topic)?

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    yes you could use cabextract, but for me since i downloaded the file in windows it was quicker to just double click on it and get it over with

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Washington State, US
    Posts
    6
    Dont even mess with cab extract for the .EXE you can throw that out the "window" and go directly here to find your specific .sys and .inf files... Then load with ndiswrapper. http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/m...index.php/List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •