Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
oh really? I thought cabextract worked with exes as well. Oh well thanks for that helpful tip...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18

    oh really? I thought cabextract worked with exes as well. Oh well thanks for that helpful tip

  2. #22
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    204
    Dime, to get back to your hijacked thread, from what I can gather you have hardware and driver present so make sure ndiswrapper is unloaded, /usr/sbin/modprobe -r ndiswrapper then /usr/sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper and check dmesg for any errors. (think /usr/sbin/ required for fedora, been a long time since I used it). Make sure bcm43xx isn't present in lsmod or it will conflict with ndiswrapper although fc5 is almost a year old so don't think that module was included then by default.
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by beagle2
    Dime, to get back to your hijacked thread, from what I can gather you have hardware and driver present so make sure ndiswrapper is unloaded, /usr/sbin/modprobe -r ndiswrapper then /usr/sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper and check dmesg for any errors. (think /usr/sbin/ required for fedora, been a long time since I used it). Make sure bcm43xx isn't present in lsmod or it will conflict with ndiswrapper although fc5 is almost a year old so don't think that module was included then by default.
    Both done. No errors in dmesg. bcm43xx is installed, but is not l;oaded.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    204
    Sorry how do you mean bcm43xx is installed?
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    I mean that driver is installed.

  7. #26
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    204
    Ok you aren't being much help here. Can you bring yourself to say how you installed the bcm43xx driver or was it included by default in the kernel? How did you stop it from loading or have you just rmmoded it? Have you done ifconfig wlan0 up ?
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    26
    I forget how it got installed (its gone now, as i reinstalled FC5 entirely)
    But it was blacklisted/rmmoded
    Wireless still isn't working, though.
    And I used NetworkManager, the fedora system-config-network (or watever it is), just about everything i could think of.
    How is ifconfig wlan0 up going to help iwscan find the network, again?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •