Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm a newbie with linux, and i just did a complete wipe an install of opensuse 10.2 on a dell latitude 110L. The wireless card pick's up and when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless Not Activating Connection

Hi,

I'm a newbie with linux, and i just did a complete wipe an install of opensuse 10.2 on a dell latitude 110L. The wireless card pick's up and when i go in yast and configure it, it doesn't activate. I tryed ndiswrapper and installed different driver from there site and still no luck.

Thanks,
    X

Just Joined!
    What wireless card?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by 3cks
    Hi,

I'm a newbie with linux, and i just did a complete wipe an install of opensuse 10.2 on a dell latitude 110L. The wireless card pick's up and when i go in yast and configure it, it doesn't activate. I tryed ndiswrapper and installed different driver from there site and still no luck.

Thanks,
    X
    Try you wireless tools first. In terminal type "iwconfig wlan0". Scan for wireless networks with "iwlist wlan0 scan". My first recommendation.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Ok,

When I go into yast, it says its a Dell BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller.
    When I go into the terminal and type "iwconfig wlan0" it says no such device. When I type "iwlist wlan0 scan" it says Interface doesnt support scanning.
    I have tryed other drivers with ndiswrapper and it says they installed and its on this device, but when i got to yast delete the one it installed and try to reinstall it, it doesn't show the wireless card anymore.

Thanks for the help.
    X

Just Joined!
    To give little more info about the problem. When i install the driver via ndiswrapper and run "ndiswrapper -l" it shows....
    bcmwl5 : driver installed
    device (14E4:431 present (alternate driver: bcm43xx)