Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
By the way, my PC thinks that my USB drive is SCSI, so I'm thinking that this may well be the problem!!!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined! k0rrupt10n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    37

    Exclamation Usb


    By the way, my PC thinks that my USB drive is SCSI, so I'm thinking that this may well be the problem!!!

  2. #12
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    No it's normal for USB drives to be mounted using SCSI emulation. That's why it would be a device similar to /dev/sda rather than /dev/hda. (I'm thinking sda should be scsi-disk-a though I could be wrong, it has always been an assumption I have made.)

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Posts
    198
    Reali?! I didn't know that :S

    Thanks,

    Tim
    Finished building PC using PC Pro's A-List! Will add specs soon =)

  4. #14
    Just Joined! k0rrupt10n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    37

    Usb

    Now, under SuSe, the MP3 works fine!!!

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Posts
    198
    Glad to hear you got your problem solved. Enjoy Linux lol!

    Tim
    Finished building PC using PC Pro's A-List! Will add specs soon =)

  6. #16
    Just Joined! k0rrupt10n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    37

    Unhappy If it isn't one thing...

    I am determined to run a purely Linux operated machine, but things do so conspire against me!!! Now that my USB Drive is connected, as well as my printer, I can't log on to the session as root!!!

    Maybe I should just give up and go back to Microsoft...

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Just patience. You will discover that when you get everything working you will will seek for some difficulties
    Is there a possibility that you have forgotten your root password? Have a look here in order to recover lost root password
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  8. #18
    Just Joined! k0rrupt10n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    37

    Exclamation Password

    No, I still have the password. I can Su to root, but I can't manually input root as an account name.

    I tried init to cmd line, logging in as root, then startx but no go. What is the command line for adding group.root to a user, changing default from user to root?

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    N. Ireland
    Posts
    198
    So your really having fun then!!!

    Tim

    P.s No I don't know the command line sadly
    Finished building PC using PC Pro's A-List! Will add specs soon =)

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    when you tried logging as root from command line your xserver was already running?
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •