Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi i need some help configuring wireless internet for ubuntu. i think i have the necessary files for this but i dont know exactly how to use them. i have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53

    SMC WPCI Wireless card and ubuntu


    hi i need some help configuring wireless internet for ubuntu. i think i have the necessary files for this but i dont know exactly how to use them.

    i have the following

    madwifi-0.9.2.1.tar.bz2
    madwifi-0.9.2.1.tar.gz
    madwifi-tools_0.9.2+dfsg-1_i386.deb
    module-assistant_0.10.10_all.deb

    i think these are the proper tools but im new so i am unsure.

    it is mad wifi because it is for sure an atheros chipset

    can someone walk me through the or put me in the right direction?

    thankyou!!

  2. #2
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    the strangest thing happened. I took my PC home from work and booted up Linux, then i was promted for updates. I clicked on them and I updated and wireless internet worked fine. Then i restarted and it didnt work again. Why Is that?

  3. #3
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    bumping this thread still looking for help

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Alright, first you need to install the tarball "madwifi-0.9.2.1.tar.gz".
    Then have a look here and here. I guess you will be ok. Post if you have any problem
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  5. #5
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    hey thanks for the documentation. I forgot all about this thread althoug i want to get this solved once and for all.

    first off it asks that I open a shell terminal in the MadWifi source directory. Now do i do that by adding the terminal in the Open with options of the folder? Also is there somewhere that i should specifically put the mad wifi folder?

    and could this be accomplished with nds wrapper?


    thanks

  6. #6
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    bump still trying to get this working


    thanks

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    I have never used madwifi. Post the output of "lspci" run as root
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  8. #8
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    Code:
    00:00.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a3)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev a3)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
    00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f2)
    00:07.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
    00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
    00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
    00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:07.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5005G 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB82AA2 IEEE-1394b Link Layer Controller (rev 01)
    05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R430 [Radeon X800 (PCIE)]
    05:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc R430 [Radeon X800 (PCIE) Secondary]

    thanks for the reply!

  9. #9
    Just Joined! abierstedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    53
    hey guys can someone try to help me? sorry to be pushy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •