Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have installed feisty fawn and am in trouble now. My wireless was always working out of the box with ubuntu, and not with other linux distros But feisty fawn ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned ilanesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    wireless stoped working in ubuntu feisty fawn


    I have installed feisty fawn and am in trouble now.
    My wireless was always working out of the box with ubuntu, and not with other linux distros
    But feisty fawn i don`t no what is happen, it took me long to get it work and it worked only twice and stoped to work. I have ipw3945
    how this can be that in feisty fawn it is not working and in all the older ubuntu it is working out of the box? I have to connected a wire only for to have internet on my laptop, this is not good, help please. or I must stay with the older ubuntu version, sadly.

  2. #2
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    It may just be the Beta Effect. Unless you're going to give a bit of output I don't think I'll be able to recommend anything, what does iwlist say?
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  3. #3
    Banned ilanesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    thanks Oxygen, well I don`t no what is an output, I have no output or something like such a software.
    for me all is this new, i am used to pclinuxos where everything works out of the box. With only one time configuration for wireless.
    Now i have replaced ubuntu feisty with linux mint bianca, and there i got the same problem , only the first time it works and then when rebooting it is even gone the wireless, is not found anymore on the computer in bianca. I thought bianca is not anymore beta? But I guess I donwloadet it the time when it still was beta, maybe I should redownload it and reinstall. it is Ubuntu based, so it is actually almost the same.
    So maybe I wait till the stable is release, cause I have a brandnew laptop and they even warned not to install beta there. So its all my fault.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    Thought you were a tad more expirience, open the console (terminal) and type iwconfig then post the output here.
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  6. #5
    Banned ilanesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    I use distros where you don`t need command line, and slso I tried it a few times and it crashed my desktop, so better i stay away.
    thanks.

  7. #6
    Banned ilanesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    laptop:*~‬$* ‬iwconfig
    lo* ‬no wireless extensions.

    eth0* ‬no wireless extensions.

    my eth1 is not showing up anymore,
    on the live cd it works out of the box, but not after beeing installed, it disapeared, I evne reinstalled the whole distro again, but then only twice it functions after los of hard work, and then it stoped, I have always to boot upr to another distro only for to go online, this is not fun.
    or they support these wireless, or not, so am forced to leave distros who don`t work, it is sad.

  8. #7
    Banned ilanesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    I have it posted, befor you wrote me, this is the answer, hope you see it, very few words are the answer and I copied them. thanks, nothing is working an all the ubuntu distors, I mean the new once, the older once work out of the box, only not the new distro`s, why? they don`t support it anymore? is it cause of it?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2

    wireless: Edgy ok, Fiesty no

    Quote Originally Posted by Oxygen
    It may just be the Beta Effect. Unless you're going to give a bit of output I don't think I'll be able to recommend anything, what does iwlist say?
    I also have probs with my wireless card, after upgrading from Edgy to Fiesty (yes, Beta). I had used ndiswrapper for my Netgear card.

    Whilst I see the AP with iwlist , I cannot set any values with iwconfig.

    If anyone could offer suggestions, it would be appreciated.

    my info:
    >> sudo ndiswrapper -l; cat /etc/modules
    netma521 : driver installed
    device (10EC:8180) present (alternate driver: r818x)
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.

    lp
    ndiswrapper


    >> iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:11:95:40:D3:5F
    ESSID:"AP"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:79/100 Signal level:-45 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
    12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=47129
    Cell 02 - Address: 00:E0:98:FE:A2:18
    ESSID:"05B404978712"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:35/100 Signal level:-73 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
    Encryption key:off
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 22 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=200
    Extra:atim=14337

    >> sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Auto Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power:20 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
    RTS thr=2432 B Fragment thr=2432 B
    Encryption key:1234-5678-9A Security mode:restricted
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    >> sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid AP mode Managed
    >> sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Auto Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power:20 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
    RTS thr=2432 B Fragment thr=2432 B
    Encryption key:1234-5678-9A Security mode:restricted
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    >>

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its a BUG in Feisty. 'wired network' bug is resolved after last upgrade. development team is working on resolving 'wireless' problem.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    its a BUG in Feisty. 'wired network' bug is resolved after last upgrade. development team is working on resolving 'wireless' problem.
    Thanks, devils_casper! What a relief to hear that:
    1. I'm not doing anything incorrectly.
    2. The bug is being resolved.


    Cheers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •