Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
OK, I've only worked with computers for 30 years starting with assembler code and debugging by entering hex using switches on the front panel but I'm just beginning to understand ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Angry Maybe all newbs struggle but please help...

OK, I've only worked with computers for 30 years starting with assembler code and debugging by entering hex using switches on the front panel but I'm just beginning to understand why (dare I say it here) Windows (there said it) has been so successful - it just works !

I'm on my 3rd distro (Mandriva 2007 Free) having tried Fedora 6 (wouldn't even boot, trashed the boot sector, needed Windows Fixboot and FixMBR to get going again) and Ubuntu 6.10 (seems to have a wireless capability but not with WEP).

So Mandriva wireless setup is quite polite and tells me it doesn't have a driver for my BT1040 wireless card and offers me to use my Windows partition but then doesn't find the driver, however it gives me a web addressto go to ! ASIDE - the monitor setup utility isn't polite and just says 'program terminated abnormally' but that's another issue.

BACK to the wireless driver - the web address Home - Broadcom 43xx doesn't provide a driver, nor a link Windows can deal with (have to use Windows 'cos Linux needs the driver to connect to the internet as I don't have a 20m ethernet cable).

So then I try searching for help and it rapidly gets very technical, too technical for me (I only write test programs for silicon chips).

PLEASE can anyone provide a location for an appropriate Linux driver and simple installation instructions for it ? Otherwise I'm afraid I'll have to abandon Linux 'cos I want to be able to connect to the world without invoking magical incantations to do with kernels or worse.

Just Joined!

Better idea