Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
does the Yum command work with Debian? this is what I get for the other suggestion Code: debian:/lib/windrivers# modinfo ndiswrapper modinfo: could not find module ndiswrapper...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30

    does the Yum command work with Debian?

    this is what I get for the other suggestion

    Code:
    debian:/lib/windrivers# modinfo ndiswrapper
    modinfo: could not find module ndiswrapper

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30
    Code:
    debian:/lib/windrivers# apt-get install modutils
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Suggested packages:
      ksymoops
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      modutils
    0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 246kB of archives.
    After unpacking 803kB of additional disk space will be used.
    Get:1 http://debian.yorku.ca etch/main modutils 2.4.27.0-6 [246kB]
    Fetched 246kB in 11s (22.0kB/s)
    Selecting previously deselected package modutils.
    (Reading database ... 66521 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking modutils (from .../modutils_2.4.27.0-6_amd64.deb) ...
    Setting up modutils (2.4.27.0-6) ...
    Architecture-specific modutils configuration for x86_64 not found, using defaults
    
    debian:/lib/windrivers# modinfo ndiswrapper
    modinfo: could not find module ndiswrapper

  3. #13
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    My bad, yum does not work on Ubuntu, sorry.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Post the output of ifconfig again please.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30
    I have managed to get the correct driver installed now and the device is listed as well as the driver.

    I am stil getting a FATAL error when typing the modprobe ndiswrapper.
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:36:42:F7:6C
              inet addr:192.168.1.68  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::216:36ff:fe42:f76c/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:131013 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:73469 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:167272370 (159.5 MiB)  TX bytes:6249634 (5.9 MiB)          Interrupt:217 Base address:0xc000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:560 (560.0 b)  TX bytes:560 (560.0 b)

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30
    eth1 was listed and now I am getting a nothing!!

    Code:
    debian:/home/lee# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    
    debian:/home/lee#

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30
    ......ok now I am confused.

    I have now lost all reference to eth1. There is nothing under iwconfig and when I go into the Network Manager there is only the "wired" eth0 connection as the wireless card has gone from that as well.

    So, I am really stuck and even though I hate "sorry, can't even bring myself to type Micr((*)( or Win&^*% " I am starting to wonder if all this effort is going to be worth it as I am in serious need of the wireless function.

  8. #18
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by LeeBuckley View Post
    Code:
    debian:/home/lee# ndiswrapper -i /lib/windrivers/bcmwl5.inf
    installing bcmwl5 ...
    forcing parameter IBSSGMode from 0 to 2
    forcing parameter IBSSGMode from 0 to 2
    debian:/home/lee# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:""  Nickname:"Broadcom 4318"
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Invalid
              RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:1883-0566-6617-5193-8928-6723-50   Security mode:open
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    
    debian:/home/lee# ndiswrapper -l
    installed drivers:
    bcmwl5          driver installed (alternate driver: bcm43xx)
    debian:/home/lee#
    That is what I was looking at from your 8th post, somehow you had it working, maybe not fully working but that is what you want to see when you type ifconfig.
    I don't understand why your commands are missing or why your devices are missing suddenly.
    always login root like this
    su - (include the hyphen) press enter
    enter root password, press enter
    try using the path too
    /sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    30
    Code:
    debian:/home/lee# su -
    debian:~# /sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper
    FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.
    debian:~#

  10. #20
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by LeeBuckley View Post
    Code:
    debian:/home/lee# su -
    debian:~# /sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper
    FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.
    debian:~#
    I'm still looking into this one
    FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.
    EDIT: try issueing this command depmod -a, then try modprobe again.
    before I lose it, here is a good Debian based howto
    Debian User Forums :: View topic - HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx Wireless Card
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 06-19-2007 at 04:21 AM. Reason: more info
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •